May 22, 2007

Update

Clinton Portis and Chris Samuels of the Washington Redskins went on TV yesterday and ridiculed the notion of someone getting in trouble for dog-fighting. Portis and Samuels are as ridiculous as Lantos for their statements.

Mr. W

May 21, 2007

Lantos and the NFL, Really? Really?

On the way to work this morning I was listening to "Mike and Mike" on ESPN Radio. The segment that I caught was Mike Golic's reaction to a letter Congressman Lantos (D-Ca) wrote to the commissioner of the NFL, Roger Goodell. The letter was in regards to Michael Vicks alleged dogfighting connection. In short Lantos is concerned with Vicks alleged connection with illegal dogfighting. The actual letter, which can be downloaded from Lantos' website, annoys me. Here's why......

Continue reading "Lantos and the NFL, Really? Really?" »

May 16, 2007

NBA = Ridiculous

Please only read on if you have either A) watched all the games in the Spurs vs. Suns series or B) you have at least seen the highlights. Why Stoudamire and Diaw should not have been suspended.....

Continue reading "NBA = Ridiculous" »

May 04, 2007

NBA Playoffs, Round 1: WOW

Wowwy Zowwy, I did not see this coming!!!! For those of you who live under a rock it's NBA playoff time and already in the first round two things shocked me.

Continue reading "NBA Playoffs, Round 1: WOW" »

April 04, 2007

National Championship and a Story about Fantasy Addiction

Well Florida won basketball again, and who is surprised? Not me. You have to feel a little sorry for the Buckeyes and for the state of Ohio itself. Florida will be proclaimed one of the most dynamic athletic programs in the nation, winning the two most coveted trophies in the same year, and all of that could have been Ohio's except they ran into the superior athletes from the superior state of Florida.

Congratulations to the Florida Gators, and also to the Tennessee Volunteers women basketball team that won last night.

Continue reading "National Championship and a Story about Fantasy Addiction" »

March 30, 2007

Final Four

Who's pumped for the Final Four? I know I am. With the four teams left, Florida vs. UCLA and OSU vs. Georgetown setting the matchups. For those of you who read my first couple of posts, I've learned my lesson. I am picking Florida to beat UCLA. It'll be a matchup of last years finals, and what happened there? Oh that's right Florida won, and they're bringing back all of they're stars. I'm guessing it's the same outcome.

Alright for my favorite matchup though. OSU vs. Georgetown, Hibbert vs. Oden. Hibbert is two years older and two inches taller than Oden. Oden is a far superior athlete though. It will come down to the refs on this one. If they let the centers play a more NBA style and allow more bumping, it'll be a great game. If not it'll turn into a standard college game with Georgetown milking the shot clock. Blah blah blah, I can go on and on about strategy but it all comes down to the pick, OSU.

A rematch of the football BCS finals huh? That would be a great thing for both programs, and I think it would make a great media story line.

Mr. W

March 12, 2007

64 teams

Its March Madness, BABY!!! For all of those who love, buzzer beaters, cinderella stories, and diaper dandies, this is your time of year. The field of 64 was announced yesterday. Read below for this years George Mason and my pick to win it all.

Continue reading "64 teams" »

February 20, 2007

All Star Game

I've decided that if I were a commissioner of any of the three major sports leagues (I don't include hockey, and that's a different story all together) I would do away with All Star Games.

Here are the reasons why.....

Continue reading "All Star Game" »

January 15, 2007

Conference

Alright, the bowls are done and final ballots are in. Which conference do I think is the best?

Lets look at the big games. UF manhandled OSU. LSU rolled up Notre Dame. Boise State pulled a miracle against Oklahoma. USC made UM look bad. Louisville beat Wake Forest. Those are the BCS games. Overall however, the standings go like this.

Continue reading "Conference" »

January 09, 2007

Crow

I WAS WRONG!!!! And, Jim Johnson, crow is actually not that bad, just needs some more meat on the bones. For those of you who don't know I had the Gators as big underdogs, and said that Urban Meyer would never win a championship with a spread offense. Boy do I look stupid.

I won't go into too much detail, and I think the myth of the Big Bad Big Ten has been debunked, what with OSU and UM. But all the credit in the world goes to the Florida defense which played outstanding and to Chris Leak. Not because of his stat line, but his decision making, through the whole game I saw him throw two stupid passes. His incompletions that were thrown out of bounds were brilliant and he played within his system and got the ball to his play makers.

My bowl and conference recap will come this weekend.

Congratulations Gators!!!!

Mr. W

January 07, 2007

National Championship

I figure since I'm out on a limb anyways, I'll go ahead and make a prediction.

National Championship game tomorrow, Ohio State 27 - UF 17. Even with Hetland the Choke Artist.

Mr. W

January 06, 2007

College Coaches

I apologize for the absence in posting, its been the holidays and frankly don't have an excuse. Its the beginning of the "real" college basketball season, no more cupcake games. However this post is about who I think is the best college football coach.

There are a lot of candidates out there who I think deserve that honor. It took a long time for me to make a final decision (in fact you can ask Mr. G, I pined over it for a long time). I gave the nod to Jim Tressel, even before the National Championship game. I based this on his overall record, wins against rivals, conference and national championships, and big game wins. I gave honorable mention to Bob Stoops, his job at Oklahoma has been tremendous.

I will be posting more often, look for my bowl, college basketball, and maybe even a NHL review.

Mr. W

December 05, 2006

Role Play

Now that the ballots are in and the votes counted we have our National Championship game, OSU vs. UF. I admit, I did not think that Florida had a shot at making the National Championship (who really thought USC was going to lose?) Trying to look at this situation from a third person perspective is hard so I'm going to do it as a fan for both teams.

Read how I would react if I was either fan.......

Continue reading "Role Play" »

Florida Basketball

With all the football talk, I thought this might have gotten overlooked. FSU 70 UF 66, at Florida State. Tough one gators, very tough.

Mr. W

December 01, 2006

Mr. W's Weekend Recommendation - Watch Army v. Navy

This weekend is the Army vs. Navy football game. Whether you are football fan or not I highly suggest watching this game. I admit that the two teams no longer compete for national titles like they did in the 40’s and 50’s, you probably will not see the best played game of football, and the players on the team will not be going to the NFL.  However, this game is about more than football. These young men who take the field that day are our future leaders. The young men and women who attend these academies made the choice to join two of the finest institutes of higher learning when graduating high school and further committed to serve our country for at least six years after graduation.

I had the honor of attending last year’s Naval Academy graduation to watch one of my best friends, whom I have known since elementary school, graduate.  He is one of the most honorable people I have ever known and it was such an honor to be invited to that day.

I tell you this to explain that the tradition and commitment I saw when visiting the campus is unlike any college I have ever been too (and I have been to quite a few). The idiosyncrasies, tradition, and history are absolutely incredible. Just walking on campus you can feel the honor that these students have in attending this school. I could go on and on about what happens to “Plebes” (first year Naval Academy students) and some of the difficulties they must endure, however, I suggest talking to someone who actually went through it because I could not do it justice.

What makes the Army v. Navy game so incredible is the fact that, although these young men play against each other on that day, they also know that in the not-to-distant future that they will hold each others lives in their hands. This game is more than a game of football, it is a way to honor our past and future hero’s, a way to show our respect to our military leaders, and a matter of pride among our military.

They are the best and brightest and they sacrificed the life that many other college students take for granted. There are several days honoring our veterans, but I suggest taking at least part of the day, watch a couple of minutes of the football game and remember that these young adults will soon be leading our military and our country.

The game is  Saturday at 2:30 pm on CBS.

On that note: Navy 31 – Army 14..

GO NAVY BEAT ARMY!!!!!!!!!! ANCHORS AWEIGH!!!!!!!!

Mr. W

November 25, 2006

Are the Magic the Real Deal?

At 10-4 the Magic lead the Southeast division. Here's the deal, I thought it would be another year or two before the Magic brought it all together. I was wrong.

I don't see any other team in the Southeast division challenge the Magic for their lead. Last years champions, the Heat, are 5-8 and last years other Southeast division team that made the playoffs, the Wizards, are 4-9.

Here are three reasons why the Magic will win the Southeast:

The Heat are old and one of their legitimate superstars, Shaq, is injured. Dwayne Wade is having his typical great season, but the rest of the team has not been playing with any passion or Heat oops I mean fire. I don't see the older veterans making a run.

The Wizards have no complimentary players to help Arenas, plus Arenas has not played well of late shooting 2 of 12 just the other night.

Dwight Howard. He leads the league in rebounds per game at close to 14, and is averaging close to 17 points per game. In fact he had a streak of 2 games where he was a 20/20 player. He has developed into one of the top players in the league. No one can seem to stop him.

Congratulations to the Magic for starting off in such a tremendous way.

While I write this I realized that it was a waste and a moot point however, because the Cavs are going to beat everyone else in the East, solidifying Lebron James as king.

Mr. W

November 22, 2006

Rivalries


With the outset of Rivalry week I’ve decided to ask the question, what is the best college football rivalry? Now before I get inundated with UF vs. FSU, Michigan vs.OSU, Alabama vs. Auburn etc. replies, I made my decision on four factors:


1.  Animosity

2.  Relevancy (i.e. conference and BCS implications)

3.  History

4.  The most important: school uniforms


Personally, my top three rivalries are Michigan vs. OSU, FSU vs. UF, and Army vs. Navy.

Sidenote: Congrats to Justin Morneau and Ryan Howard who won their respective baseball MVP award. By the way their salaries are $385,000 and $355,000 respectively.


Mr. W

November 17, 2006

Urban Disaster?

Let me explain to you why Urban Meyer will NOT lead the Florida Gators to a National Championship. As a precursor, I believe that Coach Meyer is a good football mind and an excellent coach. He has won the MAC coach of the year in 2001, the WAC coach of the year in 2003 and 2004, and the College coach of the year in 2003. He made, at the time, the biggest turn around in the NCAA history with Bowling Green earning him the MAC coach of the year. After leaving BGSU for Utah he took the Utes to a 12-0 record and their first BCS bowl birth beating Pittsburgh. With his job complete at Utah and with his ties to Notre Dame as an assistant, Tyrone Willingham getting fired, the public believed he would leave for Notre Dame’s head coaching job. Instead he chose UF, a school reeling from their Zook years. He must be the next coming of the “ole ball coach” right? Not so fast my friend!

Read on...

Continue reading "Urban Disaster?" »

April 26, 2006

Ricky Williams Banned in 06

I guess this puts some focus on the Dolphin's draft day strategy. BTW, the NFL draft is this weekend.

Right now Miami has the 16th pick. Unfortuantely for them, there aren't a lot of great RB's in this year's draft. They won't do anything stupid to trade up and pick up Bush, so, If they want they could probably get his partenr in crime Lendale White at the 16th pick. And if draft day starts getting crazy and somebody has fallen to their position they don't need (say a QB or defensive player), they could probably trade down several spots on draft day and still pick up Lendale White. But, no matter what, they must do something about their offensive line with their remaining picks, otherwise, what's the point?

November 07, 2005

Cheerleaders just wanna have fun

The Panthers took it to the Bucs yesterday but the real news is our cheerleaders.  North Carolina, what a great state with great people.

Mr. H

August 31, 2005

Haven't drafted your fantasy football picks yet?

Have no fear, the Sports Guy top forty.

August 25, 2005

4:20 Post - Go Lance Go..

Lance on the Counterattack considering legal actions against allegations he was doping in 1999. What's the point?

"And at the end of day," he added, "I think that's what it's all about ... selling newspapers. And it sells."

When isn't it? Look below.

August 19, 2005

Don't blame them, blame yourself

You're probably thinking this story is about the ACLU, BGLA, ACORN, MoveOn, One America, or the democratic party. And you would have good reason with a long history of like statements coming from those organizations, but you would be wrong on this account.

The latest installment from the Sports Guy, Bill Simmons, on NFL Wide Receivers and their flamboyant (pain in the backside) style.

When I was growing up, you had a better chance of seeing Bjorn Borg dropping F-bombs than an NFL wideout hogging the limelight. Receivers were seen but rarely heard, graceful gazelles who zipped around and kept their traps shut.

Ahh. The good old days.

Impressionable kids see something working and want to emulate it, maybe even take it to another level. And it keeps escalating and escalating, the bar being raised each time.

Yeah, I know what you mean Sports Guy. I see people posing like they're the real PEER Review when there is only one. Will the real PEER Review please stand up? Please stand up. Please stand up.

Me me me me me. That's how you have to think. Two of the most successful modern receivers, Keyshawn and TO, are also two of the savviest. They know which buttons to push, how to keep their names in the limelight, how to make sure the Kornheisers and Wilbons will always be arguing about them and, most of all, how to keep footballs coming their way.

No love for Michael Irvin? He's the Original Gangsta Reciever, the OGR from way back. How 'bout them Cowboys! But seriously, can you believe that guy's name is Kornheiser? I bet he got picked on high school.

Like it or not, receivers have evolved into pro wrestling characters, borderline villains who never stop working the crowd, like Triple H or Rowdy Roddy Piper. When one of them lacks the talent or charisma to pull this off, it's pathetic. Just ask Freddie Mitchell.

Goin' a little rough on Freddie aren't you? No? I guess your right. He's pathetic. But you better watch out for Triple H. That's a big dude. They don't have a steroid ban in Wrestling. There's no crying in Wrestling. I'm just saying, that's a big dude. That, and I can still smell what the Rock was cooking.

At the rate we're going, receivers will be humping goalposts and fake-pooping footballs in the end zone some day. It's bound to happen. So either kick back and enjoy the lunacy or ignore them like you would a deranged homeless man on the street.

Just don't complain, because it's only going to get worse.

Did he say fake-pooping footballs? I can't believe I posted this story. Can you tell it's a slow political news day?

Everyone can thank Blogger X for suggesting regular reading from the Sports Guy. Honestly, Sports Guy, one of the best sports writers in the business.

Mr. C

August 02, 2005

PGA Golfer John Daly suing Florida Times Union for Libel

Check out the kerfuffle over at The Florida Masochist. Apparently a FTU sports writer got fast and loose with his facts and John Daly is going to sue. Seems reasonable to me.

Mr. G Says...

Out of State Allies

PRFL Contributors

Syndication

  • Get this widget from Widgetbox

Copyright and Disclaimer