May 18, 2007

Ann and Mr. G on Rev. Falwell

With the passing of Rev. Jerry Falwell I've been dismayed to watch so many Conservative Christians attempt to "honor" him without doing something to indicate they agreed with Falwell on anything.  Meanwhile on the left, many are celebrating Falwell's passing and others, while not so quick to celebrate a man's death simply mock him.  That is why I'm thankful for folks like Ann Coulter who has the courage to say what so many others are afraid to say directly, or at all; Jerry Falwell was a great man.  As usual, Ann even takes it to the max:

"Let me be the first to say: I ALWAYS agreed with the Rev. Falwell."

Dr. Falwell has had a tremendous impact on not just our nation, but the globe through his help in reinvigorating the influence of evangelicals and Conservatives in the political sphere as well as through the impact of his biblical teachings and foundation of Liberty University.  While I never had the privilege of meeting the man in person, but I know many who have and have been forever bettered by the experience.

While the left continues to spew venom about how Falwell "hated this" and "hated that" I encourage you to remember the example he st for us in his relationship with sex industry mogul Larry Flynt.  Here was a man that had wronged Falwell to a degree that most of us will never experience.  Between the public humiliation Flynt doled out and the resulting multi-million dollar lawsuit if Falwell had reason to "hate" anyone, it was Larry Flynt.  But instead, Falwell made a friend from an enemy.  Here's what Flynt said upon Falwell's passing:

"I hated everything he stood for, but after meeting him in person, years after the trial, Jerry Falwell and I became good friends. He would visit me in California and we would debate together on college campuses. I always appreciated his sincerity even though I knew what he was selling and he knew what I was selling."

I hope that we can all learn from the example that Falwell lived out; standing by principal, living out our convictions and doing so in love.  I'm with Ann and I mourn the passing of a man of incredible conviction and impact.

May 10, 2007

Does God Exist?

ABC Nightline last night featured a debate over the existence of God.  The sides were represented by two each from the Christian Ministry "The Way of the Master" (including Kirk Cameron, formerly of Growing Pains) and from the Rational Response Squad.  While the Nightline special focused mainly on the fact that the debate occurred the website contains clips of what appears to be most of the debate.   Though the format of the debate kept the topic bouncing around from evolution to Christian theology, etc., it is really a fascinating discussion.  I encourage you to scope it out.

On Youtube as well.

April 18, 2007

September Dawn - Romney hitpiece from Clinton's Hollywood?

I'm not saying it is, it's hard to tell from a 1 minute clip, but you can make up your own mind. Here's the clip I came across tonight. And the IMDB listing.

I assume this movie will be coming out probably this fall. You have to question the motive behind the whole thing. I mean, I have a hard time imagining a movie about the early days of Mormonism would have anything more than a limited attraction at the box office. But if said film is likely to displease the very audience that would be most interested in such a topic, then what exactly is the marketing strategy here?

It can't be a good thing for a Mormon candidate to have a major motion picture depicting his faith in, how should I say it, a questionable way. A movie that uncovers a conspiratorial cover up about it's foundational members that has been kept under wraps for over century? Not good at all.

You don't think this was coordinated do you? I wonder if any of the actors are Scientologist who are jealous that the Mormons are fielding a candidate for President and all they got was this guy. Where's my tshirt BTW?

Oh, forgot about this guy, he's big. Funny actually, the pictures on the internet don't look anything like the ones on my fridge of him standing next to my wife. He's shorter than you would think.

Update: Well someone thought enough of it to ask Romney himself. And more information than anybody should possibly have about the event. If you read it all let me know what it says...

February 21, 2007

Religious Freedom Under Attack in Florida

Two examples of religious freedom being quashed in our own state:

Case 1:  International Outreach Center and Worldwide Agape Ministries v. Miami-Dade County

The International Outreach Center (IOC) and Worldwide Agape Ministries (WAM) are small religious organizations which hold services for their members in Miami-Dade County.  Both groups are being told by the county that in order to continue meeting, they must procure 2.5 acres within designated areas of the county on which to hold their services pursuant to Code Section 33-18(d).  Yes, all churches in Miami-Dade County are required to have a property of at least 2.5 acres on which they meet.  This presents a problem to groups like WAM which only has 10 members and meets in the home of one of their members.  It also poses a problem for groups like IOC which have been on their current property for over 10 years.

Now, I you can have 20 people over to your house to watch the Miami Hurricanes get trounced by the Seminoles in College Football in Miami-Dade County, but if it is a religious group that wants to meet, the county requires them to have special property.  In fact, according to the county, even if the group has only 2-3 members, they must still have 2.5 acres of property to meet on.  Oh, and that property can only be in certain zones.

The county's zoning code on this matter is not only just plain ridiculous, but also discriminatory.  Church groups should be free to meet in private residences, and should not be subject to arbitrary acreage and location requirements not imposed upon any other civic group.

You can see the Complaint filed against the County on behalf of IOC and WAM here.

Case 2:  State of Florida v. Simpson and State of Florida v. Mirto

These cases involve to delinquents who had the audacity to hand out bibles on a public sidewalk near a school in Plantation Key, Florida.  The principal of the school called the police who came and instructed the men to leave.  Simpson and Mirto began to comply, packing their things to leave.  The officer on the scene then decided to arrest the men before they could leave for a violation of Florida Statutes Section 810.097 which prohibits trespassing on school property.  Apparently, the police report states that the men were on school property, rather than the sidewalk.

Isn't it good to know that government is out there protecting us from churches with less than 2.5 acres of property and men handing out bibles?

January 16, 2007

Religious Freedom: Stay Informed

We've talked about two of the largest categories of religious freedom cases that are currently hotly contested in our country.  Sadly, there are many, many more, including the frequent fights over property rights and taxes between the government and religious groups.

So what can we do?  The first step is to stay informed.  Sadly, these religious freedom issues rarely get any airtime with the MSM, and are overlooked by even the blogosphere.  But I have a resource to suggest, the Alliance Alert from the Alliance Defense Fund.  This site frequently updates almost daily on ongoing religious liberty issues as well as issues related to life and traditional family values.  You can even sign up for the updates to be emailed to you.

Once you are following the state of religious freedom you can chose when to get involved.  Obviously, as a Florida resident there will be little you can do as to an issue in California.  But as we discussed today, there are issues cropping up closer to home, like in Ocala.

Stay vigilant and ready to help in the fight to defend religious freedom for all of us.

In closing, I leave you with an excellent article reviewing religious liberty losses over the past year.  Religious Freedom Day will end with the change in the date, but let's not allow our attention on religious freedom to end as well.  It is time for us to begin protect our religious freedom with the fervor it deserves and to do that we have to stay aware of the state of the battle.   Stay vigilant.

Religious Freedom: Public Square

The next area in the battle for religious freedom we will examine are what I term "Public Square" cases.  These are cases which involve the display of religious items of symbols as well as cases involving religious speech.

A_soledadcross_1 The biggest battle recently has been over this little guy.  This is the centerpiece of a Korean War Memorial in San Diego, CA.  The ACLU has been going batty over it and have been attempting for some time now to have it removed.  Again, the Alliance Defense Fund and the Liberty Legal Institute has flown into the rescue.  It seemed as though the ACLU was going to succeed in their effort until the monument was transfered to federal control.  The 9th Circuit Court ruled last week that as a result of the change in control the case brought by the ACLU is moot.  This will also make it more difficult to bring future actions against the memorial.

This case is but the tip of the iceberg in a long series of cases to remove any type of religious symbol from any displays or monuments remotely connected with any level of government. 

The US Supreme Court has handed down a number of decisions related to religious displays addressing everything from the ten commandments to holiday displays.  The result is a complex web of court decisions which allow religious displays in some contexts but not others.

Continue reading "Religious Freedom: Public Square" »

Religious Freedom: Equal Access

The first area we will examine in the battle over religious freedom center around what are called "Equal Access cases."  These cases are derived from situation where a public facility such as a school or a library provides for the opportunity for outside groups to rent or use meeting space free of charge, but does not permit religious groups from participating.  These cases have become critical for many churches and religious groups in metropolitan such areas where the ability to buy land to build a meeting place or rent private meeting space is not feasible because of price.  But large metropolitan areas are not the only place where religious groups are being prohibited from having the same opportunity to use public space as other groups.

Continue reading "Religious Freedom: Equal Access" »

January 16, 2007: Religious Freedom Day

" NOW, THEREFORE, I, GEORGE W. BUSH, President of the United States of America, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the United States, do hereby proclaim January 16, 2007, as Religious Freedom Day. I call on all Americans to reflect on the great blessing of religious liberty, endeavor to preserve this freedom for future generations, and commemorate this day with appropriate events and activities in their schools, places of worship, neighborhoods, and homes."

The proclamation of this "Religious Freedom Day" will go largely unnoticed and unheeded today.  The truth is that religious freedom is something that most of us take for granted.  We may give an occasional thought to what a great treasure it is to have this freedom, but rarely will any of us feel the need to make efforts to "preserve this freedom for future generations.  We're blessed, most of us have never encountered a situation where we realized our religious freedom is being invaded.  However, make no mistake, there is a battle being waged in this country over the extent our our religious freedom and the expression of religion.  It is a battle that is being fought in courtrooms throughout the country from county courts all the way through the US Supreme Court.  Today we will highlight some recent developments in that battle, both good and bad.  We will also draw attention to a few who are fighting for the good guys.

Take a moment today to reflect on the critical part that of freedom of faith plays in not only our individual lives, but the life of our nation.   Ponder how the expression of our core beliefs contributes to the soul and culture of our country.  Consider what our nation would be like without these blessings, and be thankful, and vigilant.

January 11, 2007

Religious Freedom Day

Today President Bush by proclamation declared January 16, 2007 Religious Freedom Day.  What does that mean?  It means the President has called on you to "reflect on the great blessing of religious liberty, endeavor to preserve this freedom for future generations, and commemorate this day with appropriate events and activities in their schools, places of worship, neighborhoods, and homes."

I think we can all agree that religious freedom is one of those foundational rights that makes this nation great.  I hope you will join with me on the 16th and reflect on the many blessings that stem from the protection of our faith that this country offers.  On the 16th PEER Review Florida will also feature a special set of posts examining the current state of religious freedom in America.

January 09, 2007

The End of Embryonic Stem Cell Research?

Conservatives are buzzing about the new development in stem cell research; it seems stem cells taken from amniotic fluid, rather than live embryos, may have much of the same alleged potential as embryonic stem cells (I say "alleged" because based on what I've read I'm not convinced that embryonic stem cell research has the potential many advocate it does).  The excitement comes from the idea that we might have source of stem cells that doesn't kill babies.  But before you get too jazzed about this, I'd like to post an adaptation of what was my first post here at PEER Review on this very subject.  My first post came on the heels of a study from the University of Louisville which found that adult stem cells could be manipulated into other stem cells thereby negating the need for embryonic stem cells.  I gave a word of caution to Conservatives then that I give now:  Even if there is a breakthrough that conclusively negates the need for experiment on embryonic stem cells, there will still be a push by the left to continue down that path.  I base this on the world-view that we take from biblical scripture.

I try not to get too preachy here at PEER Review, and normally I try to leave my religious beliefs out of political discussions because religious arguments don't fly with non-religious people.  But this one is for all of you Bible-thumpin' believers out there.  So at the risk of alienating many of our liberal readers, I present my "One True Conspiracy" theory.

Continue reading "The End of Embryonic Stem Cell Research?" »

January 06, 2007

The Brave New World of designer people

The Abraham Center of Life, LLC of San Antonio is about to become the first company to make designer embryos commercially available.

According to an article in today's Washington Post, customers can order specific embryos after reviewing, "detailed information about the race, education, appearance, personality and other characteristics of the egg and sperm donors".

No uproar from the left as yet. Just wait until customers can breed out whatever aspects are determined to cause homosexuality.

They might even see that a bigger societal problem than Wal-Mart.

[Washington Post]

November 09, 2006

What Liberals Don't Want You To Know About the South Dakota Abortion Ban Vote

(Note:  This post began as a comment to a posting by Mr. Hussey over at Pushing Rope.  As an aside, I think Mr. Hussey is probably the sharpest democrat on the Florida blogosphere.)

If you have been paying attention to the MSM and liberal blogs on the rejection of the South Dakota abortion ban by voters you've probably been left with the impression that this was a huge, shocking defeat for the Pro-Life movement.  After all, if the measure failed in such a staunch Conservative state as South Dakota, a state that any liberal will tell you is the toughest place in the country to get an abortion (they have one abortion clinic), how could they expect the rest of the country to support banning abortion?

As usual, the MSM and liberal gloss over the issue doesn't paint a fair picture of reality.  I submit for your consideration three factors which you likely won't hear many other places:

You know you want to read more...

Continue reading "What Liberals Don't Want You To Know About the South Dakota Abortion Ban Vote" »

August 24, 2006

Mr. G's Florida Football Predictions

With Republican domination of the election in Florida practically inevitable, we all know that going through the motions of primaries is really, at this point, just a distraction until college football season starts.  Can you feel it in the air?

Florida is far and away the biggest and best state for college football.  As proof we had five teams in  bowl games last year, we have three heated in-state rivalries (FSU v. UF, FSU v. Miami, UCF v. USF),  two teams ranked in the top 10 in most of the pre-season polls (FSU and UF), 3 in the top 15 (add Miami) and to top it off we have what, seven Division I-A teams?

Yes, football is the life-blood of our great state.  In that spirit, I present Mr. G's predictions/wish list for the upcoming season.  You know you want it  Take the jump.

Mr.G

Continue reading "Mr. G's Florida Football Predictions" »

Bush Goes to Plan B

While watching the democrats wistfully discuss how to spend all my money last night was frustrating, it didn't make me as angry as Bush completely rolling over on Plan B this week. 

For those who are unfamiliar, Plan B is known as the morning after pill which prevents fertilization and implantation of an egg.  Now, we can debate when life begins until the cows come home, and most liberals will instantly write me off if I took the stand that maybe, just to err on the side of caution, we should draw the line before fertilization (after all, we can be 100% sure that before that point, its not a baby).  I would be written off by liberals if I argued that the pill can cause early term abortions.  But, I would expect to be written off by liberals on those points.  What I didn't expect was to be written off by my President who was elected in a wave of traditional moral values fervor.

The Food and Drug Administration approved Plan B for over the counter sales today, and Conservatives should be hopping mad for several reasons.  First, as Jane Chastain points out, there are still many health concerns with the pill, and to make it over the counter as opposed to prescription is just nuts.   But more than that, we should be angry that this move was engineered by Andrew Von Eschenbach, acting head of the FDA, and nominated by our President.

I understand that the President is fiercely loyal; we saw that with Harriet Miers.  I understand that he wants to stand by the guy, from Texas, that he nominated.  But I am really starting to wish that Bush would demonstrate the same loyalty to the Conservatives that elected him.  In a press conference on Monday, Bush was asked about the nominee and his support of making Plan B over the counter.  His response?

"I believe that Plan B ought to be -- ought to require a prescription for minors, is what I believe.  And I support Andy's decision."

Mr. President, wasn't expecting you to go on a one-man rampage against Plan B.  But I also wasn't expecting you to just completely roll-over.  You let us down, yet again.  And with elections close at hand, it may be the Republicans who need to start looking towards a "plan b" because disenfranchised Conservatives start rolling over, too.

For more on the FDA's decision, click here.

Mr. G

July 17, 2006

VBS

Vacation Bible School has begun at Cornerstone Presbyterian Church. Yesterday, we discussed truth and postmodernism, and the kids played soccer and watched a skit. If you care to join us tonight (or tomorrow or Wed.), dinner is at 5:30 and you are more than welcome. I think it's pizza tonight.

April 05, 2006

"The men of Islam are obsessed with sex beyond even the wildest imaginings of the Western male's mind."

Must read.

...it is practically impossible to be more obsessed with sexual matters than they are in Muslim communities.

Consider for a moment a culture that would prefer to let young girls die in
a burning building than to risk having them run out of said building
not clothed in properly modest dress; and tell me that such a society
is less preoccupied with matters of sex than we are in the West.
Liberating women would probably do more to advance freedom in the Middle East than giving them democracy.


Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

January 03, 2006

Why gay politics shouldn't be political at all...

NC State English Professor RV Young isn't making the political claim I am in this title (or at least not directly), but his debunking of the myth of homosexual genetic predisposition - through the use of language no less - implies that if there is, "no there, there" (i.e. tautologically speaking the term “homosexual” is nonsensical), then we should not assign rights or political protection to a "class" of people who do not technically exist, much less allow any grouping of misguided claimants to prescribe /proscribe political solutions for the remainder of society.

Additionally, he notes that the bifurcation of the term “sex” into both a class and an act really took hold in the 60’s with use of the term “gender” to describe male and female, thus providing the freedom to counter-culturists to describe the physical act of sex in ways never intended.

Taken to a political conclusion, this line of thinking would remove any discussion of gay politics or political power, marriage amendments or protection, and legal recourse for perceived grievances in society at large. It would be the ultimate victory for the moral majority, their own political Armageddon if you will.

You should read the whole article before posting your thoughts, or criticisms. And be sure to read Guarino's treatment of this same passage, my original source with multiple excerpts. Set aside 15 minutes for both. I would be particularly interested in the comments of any gay bloggers, of which I know at least a few read this blog. Be heard.

December 19, 2005

Darwinism on trial

So, I posted this morning on Pat Buchanan's piece related to darwinism and marxism. The Bitch | Lab linked and had some commentary. I left my missive in the comments. It's under moderation now, but it will be up eventually. Go check it out and leave your thoughts, if you dare.

Mr. G, this is going to be right up your alley.

Could Darwinist be the new Marxist?

I'm not a big fan of Patrick Buchanan, but this post concerning darwinism (evolution) has some well worded para's. Among them -

No one denies "micro-evolution" -- i.e., species adapting to their environment. It is macro-evolution that is in trouble.

The Darwinian thesis of "survival of the fittest" turns out to be nothing but a tautology. How do we know existing species were the fittest? Because they survived. Why did they survive? Because they were the fittest.

And,

There are other questions Darwinists need to answer. If believing that Christ                 raised people from the dead is a matter of faith -- and it is -- is not the Darwinist claim that nature created life out of non-life a matter of faith? If it is science, why can't scientists replicate it in microcosm in a laboratory?

Clearly, a continued belief in the absolute truth of Darwinist evolution is but an act of faith that fulfills a psychological need of folks who have rejected God. That picture on the wall of the science class of apes on four legs, then apes on two legs, then homo erectus  walking upright is as much an expression of faith as the picture of Adam and Eve and the serpent in the Garden of Eden.

Sounds about right to me. Micro-evolution is perfectly logical, identifiable and measurable. Macro-evolution has yet to see conclusive proof and depends on "faith" to continue propagating. Now, tell me again which side of the Evolution v ID debate is forcing “faith” and “religion” into the science classroom? Why isn't there some middle ground we can all agree on?

December 02, 2005

Evolution shmevolution

More on the evolution/ID debate and good reading in the comments section. (via David Boyd)

November 18, 2005

Intelligent Design a la Dilbert

Interesting read. Part 1. Part 2.

His basic point - both sides could be right for all he knows, but there isn't an advocate on either side who can be trusted.

Good point me thinks.

November 09, 2005

Intelligent Design

If it's not science

And it's not religion

Then what is it? comments work well, try them.

November 01, 2005

Liberal Christian?

Found this from Doug Giles by way of La Shawn Barber.

Modern liberalism tosses the scripture out on several different levels. How a true believer in the Christ defined by the scripture can buy into what Jesus, the prophets and apostles said and also what these secular thugs say is beyond me. In addition to liberalism's obvious and odious pro-holocaust-like abortion stance, its anti-biblical view of marriage, its scripture-slamming aggressive secularism, and its feckless view of our nation's defense, liberalism completely clashes with the Christian worldview. Secular liberalism's aggressive desire to eradicate Christians' rights should cause Christians to be concerned.

The Democratic Party's liberalism has degenerated over the last 40-50 years in regard to its view of Christianity and Christian rights. This party, which formerly embraced and protected our nation's great Christian heritage and teachings, no longer does so. Thus, today the Christian is between a rock and a hard place: he can either be a Christian or a liberal, but he cannot be both.

Take 3 MARIA and tell me what you think. I tend to agree. I never understood how a "Christian" could vote democrat. Kind of like I never understood how anybody in the military could vote for Bill/Hillary/Al/John(kerry)/John(edwards) or any of the rest. They hate God. They hate the military. They hate rich people. They hate the rule of law. They seem to hate everything that makes this country great.

Come to think of it, how can anyone vote for those guys?

October 16, 2005

Would you invite Jesus to dinner?

Go read this and try and tell me you didn't have a serious nod of the head or a "uh huh?" when you read it. I dare you.
(Via Rusty Peterman, HT Larry James)

Mr. C

October 13, 2005

Two out of three?

Regardless of how you come down on this, 84% say God played a role. How did evolution make so many people think the same thing?

September 26, 2005

Be Bold, Be Gentle

It's been a long time since I have posted a religion post. Here's one I saw today and thought an appropriate question for pastors.

More good commentary for Christian men from Be Bold, Be Gentle.
HT Ogre's Politics and Views

Mr. C

August 18, 2005

Christian beliefs are good for government and policy

Have you ever heard these protests from liberals -

"Didn't Jesus teach Christians to turn the other cheek? How can you support the war in Iaq if you are a Christian? Shouldn't all Christians oppose the war on the basis of their beliefs?"

Now another question, this time from a Christian perspective -

Why is it ok to base foreign policy, such as war, on my Christian beliefs but absolutely unacceptable to base my domestic policy (abortion, education, crime, etc.) on those same Christian beliefs?

That's the basis of this post from the Memento Moron. And a mighty fine post at that.

August 02, 2005

Intelligent Design

First, I'd like to say many thanks to Mr. C for the invitation to post here. Thanks, Mr. C!

Today President Bush caused a stir when he told some Texas reporters that he thinks schools ought to teach "Intelligent Design" alongside evolution. At this point, I am unwilling to guess whether this comment will become more controversial than John Robert's ties to the if-we-sound-worried-enough-maybe-the-viewers-will-think-it's-extremist Federalist Society, but we'll see. The president's remark that "You're asking me whether or not people ought to be exposed to different ideas, the answer is yes" sounds sensible enough.

But if it is so decided that Intelligent Design must not be taught after all, on account of if might run afoul of the "liberals" and their pet misinterpretation of the Establishment Clause, then surely we should also lock out of the classroom Aristotle and his Physics. Did you know that joker actually reasoned that there had to be a "Prime Mover," something unmoveable that set everything else in the universe in motion? (No wonder Cleese & Co. referred to him as a "bugger for the bottle," eh?)

Quoth he: "Since everything that is in motion must be moved by something, let us suppose there is a thing in motion which was moved by something else in motion, and that by something else, and so on. but this series cannot go on to infinity, so there must be some first mover."

Aristotle didn't go far enough to identify this Mover exactly (certainly not enough to settle religious questions), but then, neither do Intelligent Design theorists. They do address, however, a keen deficiency in Darwinistic theory.

I'll quote from a letter in The Chronicle of Higher Education (subscriber site) by Stephen C. Meyer, Professor of the Conceptual Foundations of Science at Palm Beach Atlantic University and the director of the Center for Science and Culture at the Discovery Institute: "If all living systems look as though they were designed for a purpose, as neo-Darwinists have long acknowledged, and if neither neo-Darwinism nor any other materialistic evolutionary theory accounts for the most striking appearances of design in living systems (such as the cellular information-processing system), then perhaps living systems look designed because they really were."

July 29, 2005

Bono the Christian

Saw this post over at The Locker Room, followed the link, now I'm wondering if God can forgive him for the  iPod thing.

July 28, 2005

R&S links

Some interesting thoughts about the decline of membership over the past ten years in liberal churches (Methodist -6.7%, Presbyterian -11.6%, Episcopal -5.3%) from a new book Exodus: Why Americans are Fleeing Liberal Churches for Conservative Christianity. One of those thoughts,

"We are winning the abortion issue," Land said, noting that 2002 polling indicated a majority of Americans now believe Roe v. Wade was a bad decision. "The most pro-life group is eighteen-to thirty-one-year-olds. They know that one-third of their generational cohort was killed by abortion. They know that they could have been. Lots of them take that personally."

Also, found a link to more Creationism vs. Evolution debate at NC blog Snort a Sprocket. Included is a link to a post about the Catholic Church coming to terms with Evolution by Body and Soul, and 4 links to slacktivist (NYC?) (1, 2, 3, 4) with some elegant prose regarding the subject. I really enjoyed parts 3 and 4.

July 26, 2005

One man's take on another man's take on Evolution

You don't have to support Creationism to criticize scientist who worship Evolution to ridiculous degrees. But you also can't refute Evolution as psuedo religion then rely on the assumption that Creationism is the truth, to refute the other "accepted" truth argument.You must prove your case to be true.

This morning I ran across a couple articles that exhibit this point. Beginning with this article by Frederick Turner in TCS that I first mentioned more than a week ago, followed by this piece on Friday to clear up some complaints, then commented on by The Smarter Cop on Friday.

UPDATE: Before you continue read this first so you know many scientist have problems with evolution as the answer to the creation of life, not just creationist.

Continue reading "One man's take on another man's take on Evolution" »

June 29, 2005

Wolfpack Baller, economy, more harris bashing, new link, Religion, and wrestling

Challenge Day 4

Congrats to Wolfpack baller Julius Hodge, 20th pick to the Denver Nuggets in last night's NBA Draft.

I missed the speech last night, and I am sure you have already read all about, but if you haven't here's a roundup of coverage in the major media provided by Outdside the Beltway.

US Economy still improving. Thank the Bush Tax Cuts. More would be better.

Looking for more reasons to doubt Katherine Harris? Then carry your liberal backside over to this post - NEW QUINNIPIAC POLL CONFIRMS NELSON LEAD OVER HARRIS IN HEAD TO HEAD SENATE BATTLE - at I4Jamming

White Trash Wednesday at Pirates Cove. It's not as bad as it sounds.

Are testing agencies in it for the buck or for the educational improvement of the children? Go from that to the difference between parents and teachers expectations for children and some historical links to educational expectations of children by the institution.

Level 4 Morality, Idealism and Individualism at the Partial Observer.

Presidents and Religion through SOS.

Staying with religion and seguing to the Supreme Court is this interesting post about the Ten Commandments and the Beatitutdes. I definitely see his point. However, I think the foundations of law and society are based on old school rules. The foundations of morality and relationships, love and forgiveness, are based on new school teachings. Think of it this way,

  • Old school rules are for the group, the impersonal
  • New school rules are for the individual, the personal

God doesn't care about the group, he cares about you personally. At least I think so anyway.

SCOTUS and China? Read this opinion on the Kelo decision from Matt Warner of the James Madison Institute in today's Democrat. My favorite part -

Totalitarian governments with a socialist bent are experts when it comes to trampling on individual rights in the name of benefiting the masses.

How easy would it be to replace Totalitarian governments with the Democratic Party and nobody would even notice? 

From SCOTUS Blog, Will there be a resignation?

And finally, Did you know Hulk Hogan lived in Florida? Did you know he has a TV show?

June 20, 2005

A little bit of everything

More suggestions  from the Miami Herald for how the GOP can supplant Speaker Bense for Rep. Harris in the '06 Senate race. Yeah, because the Miami Herald is oh so concerned about the GOP saving face in case Harris is the nominee. See my thoughts.

Book Review of The Bottomless Well - the follies of environmentalism, energy and conservation at TCS.

The HOT Tax? - if only they would.

Paul Chesser describes how to turn government into a cash cow.

Found this through Townhall, Presbyterian Church... encouraging Christian parents to remove their children from the public schools.

Over at Dynamist blog, info about the all powerful sugar lobby losing it's grip.

More hurricanes for Florida?

Have a great day. If I see anything else interesting, or if you find something you want me to post on, send it over and I will post on it.

Probably.

Mr. C

June 18, 2005

What are the questions?

I find this stuff on the web, and although I have read most of it in many diffrent forms, I always spend more time reading it. I find myself in the science aisles of any book store reading about chemistry, physics, the universe or some random math book.

I have a BA in Chemistry (and graduated only a few classes short for a BS in Zoology), but I have never used it professionally. Still, I have never lost my interest for these topics, for these questions. I think that is why I majored in science in my undergrad, it was one of the few subjects that would keep me coming back for more.

Sometimes it's about the questions, not the answers. Read these and see if they provoke any questions for you.

From Scientific American - 15 answers to creationsim.
From Meaning of Life Ministry - Evolution and Ideas
From the NY Times - Religion and Natural history clash
From the American Scientific Association - a great roundup of papers, editorials and essays

That should keep you busy until tomorrow, or if you are like me, a little longer.
Mr. C

June 10, 2005

Contempt for religion

I am not sure how I came across this article in my daily search for interesting reads, but it fits nicely into my "religion" posts, which I want to be thought provoking, challenging or reflective.

The piece is mainly about Christopher Hitchens, his contempt for religion, and ultimately how one can have a disagreement on the merits of religion, but should not can not have contempt for religion.

Towards the end there's this,

In a nutshell: religious belief has no monopoly on harm; conversely, good is not exclusively associated with the irreligious. It is not religious belief as such which leads to persecution, torture, murder, it is dogmatic and intolerant belief of every kind. Think of the millions killed in the last 150 years in the name of political beliefs, including would-be socialist and liberal beliefs as well as racist and fascist ones, deaths that cannot be laid at the door of religious faith. At the same time, it is a straightforward empirical fact that countless numbers of people - and I use 'countless' here advisedly and literally, not just loosely to convey the sense of very many - have been moved by their religion to do good in the world, to behave well.

Take 3 minutes and read it all.

June 09, 2005

Why Jesus?

This - The Partial Observer - Why Jesus? - is the last of a series of ten essays in search of meaning. In this piece you will find this powerful statement,

The primary word of most religions is "I'll fix you up so you will have a better life." The primary word of Jesus is, "I forgive you, and give you eternal life." The difference is huge.

That quote is profound on it's own, but it doesn't do justice to or accurately reflect the previous 9 essays. Go read them. This Sunday when you get home from church, or before NASCAR, read them - 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9.

Travel through physics, metaphysics, and religion to belief and meaning. It's a good discussion, not overly religious.

Mr. C

June 06, 2005

What's your pastor reading?

I thought this study, Survey Reveals The Books and Authors That Have Most Influenced Pastors, was interesting enough to mention. You can read the whole thing but a couple items jumped out at me. In particular,

Continue reading "What's your pastor reading?" »

June 01, 2005

lgf: Voodoo Antisemitism in Saudi Arabia

I have been watching tthese video clips lgf: Voodoo Antisemitism in Saudi Arabia on LGF for a while and I knew when I started blogging this would be something I would link too. More people should see this sort of thing, it's like watching a Nazi party meeting on public access. Very Disturbing.

Visit MEMRI TV for more clips.

Mr. G Says...

Out of State Allies

PRFL Contributors

Syndication

  • Get this widget from Widgetbox

Copyright and Disclaimer