September 20, 2007

Now hiring

Expect to see more of that in the future.

Mexicans pour into Canada from US. Apparently most of them are coming from Florida.

This is good. Classroom size should fall, employment opportunities should open up, additional vacancy in the rental market should help drive down rates, and Canada gets to give away more of it's socialized medicine.

September 16, 2007

It's Ok to lie about abortion

If you're pro-choice anyway.

The Supreme Court of New Jersey has ruled that it’s OK to lie to women about the state of their pregnancy while they are deciding to have an abortion.

New Jersey’s supreme court has just decided that, as far as state law is concerned, an abortionist can give false information to a woman trying to decide whether to have an abortion.

Is there a “baby in there”? That’s what Rose Acuna wanted to know from her obstetrician-gynecologist. She was six to eight weeks along at the time. “Don’t be stupid. It’s only blood,” the physician, Sheldon Turkish, allegedly replied. (Turkish argues that he probably said, “It’s just tissue.”) So, three days later, Acuna went ahead with the abortion.

Turns out it wasn’t “just tissue.”

There's a few personal stories and additional information at Patterico's Pontifications.
 

August 23, 2007

Amen.

"Right now, no major party out there represents my values as a Christian."

Don't assume anything based on the subject of the article itself, I just liked the quote.

July 30, 2007

Insight

I wonder how much education it takes to make this analysis?

"It's very easy by over-cooling your house to double your cooling costs," said the city of Tallahassee Utilities' Tom Gillman, who audited energy use at the Governor's Mansion in April at Crist's request. "The closer you keep your house to the outside temperature, the less the unit is going to run."

Wow! What a surprise it was to learn today that when one tries to keep a enclosed environment cooler than the surrounding environment one must use energy to maintain that temperature, which cost money (also known as the, "Close the door! I don't work 10 hours a day to air condition the whole neighborhood" argument).

You think he has a Ph.D. in BS? I mean seriously, how much genius does it take to realize if you open the windows and turn off the AC it's free? Last I checked owning a tent is the same as opening the windows sans the $300,000 mortgage. Why aren't all the hippies living tents?

It also means you stink more (in the summer) and have to take more baths, which means more water usage overall, increased energy to heat said water and more deodorant purchase, which also causes global warming. Or you freeze (in the winter), which means more clothes, sweaters, long johns and the sort must be purchased, which are made from cotton picked by illegal aliens which is sent overseas costing American's jobs they wouldn't do anyway, and sewn together by underpaid women and children who work 16 hours a day without bathrooms and air conditioning. Far be it from me to encourage unfair work practices, so I think I'll keep my thermostat set comfortably below the outdoor temperature, which is measured in degrees Mercury (where the average temperature is is 452 K (353.9 °F, 178.9 °C), very similar to Tallahassee in summer) and uncomfortable this time of year.

If I use air conditioning they hate me for global warming; if I don't use it they hate me for supporting unfair work environments, which ironically refrain from using air conditioning. They tell me not to use it but require companies in third world countries to provide it for their workers or face boycott.

Maybe the BO is an early warning sign of BS?

July 29, 2007

Assimilate and vote Republican!

From Rasmussen,

Eighty percent (80%) believe that newcomers to this land should focus on assimilating American culture rather than maintaining the culture of their home country. That’s up from 67% in 2004. Twelve percent (12%) say maintaining the home country culture should be the focus, down from 19% in 2004.

A majority (55%) continue to say that given a choice between more government services and higher taxes versus fewer services and lower taxes, they'd pick the latter trade-off. Republicans (73%) are more likely to prefer leaner government, but a plurality of Democrats (46%) also say that's their preference.

July 24, 2007

Fred Thompson picks one of Florida's best

One of Florida's best political strategist Randy Enright is chosen by the Thompson's campaign to manage the campaign. I suspect fund raising has been good as of late.

July 23, 2007

Count on it...

I expect this is just the sort of thing Bloomberg wants to hear. If he could cause the defeat of Rudy anywhere he would be happy to do it, damn the consequences.

The man has a billion dollars he wants to spend and an ego to match. Combine with disgruntled voters and heavy media in an early primary, and moderate voters will be bored and frustrated with just two candidates long before any viable independents jump in the race. Lots of confusions, undecideds and last minute what-the-hell voting for a witless billionaire. It's such a mess it's practically guaranteed Bloomberg will jump in.

July 20, 2007

Some thoughts on the Florida Goracle's Green orders

My friends, details are sketchy. They (meaning the Governors office and staff) have no idea how this will impact Florida's economy. This whole venture is a power grab pure and simple.

Yesterday, I briefly read through some of the orders. It's shocking. I first summarize some of what the orders do, then offer an opinion as to it's impact.

Yesterday's executive order seeks to reduce reduce greenhouse gas emissions across the state with target dates of 2017 (10years), 2025 and 2050. To accomplish this DEP is directed to develop rules for maximum emissions levels for electric utilities in Florida and to adopt California emissions standards.
   - Higher monthly electricity, higher price at the pump and higher purchase price with less options on new cars. Will likely lead to inspections compliant registrations and retrofitting all cars on the road to meet new standards.

DCA is directed to revise the Florida Energy Code for Building construction, and to implement rulemaking authority with the Florida Energy Conservation Standards to increase by 15% the energy efficiency of consumer products.
    - Higher costs for new home and business construction directly impacted through increased material costs, inspection and licensing fees. Higher costs mean higher prices which will mean higher insurance premiums too.

Requires
the PSC (with it's newest member Nancy Argenziano) to develop rules by September of this year requiring utilities to obtain at least 20% of their electricity from so called renewable sources (think wind farms and solar panel farms), reduce the cost of connecting renewable sources to the power grid and allow customers to generate their own electricity.
     - Direct and immediate impact on residential utility bills as price for construction and implementation of plan will be shared by all customers. These things don't happen for free you know! The likelihood that more than a couple percent of all residential units in Florida can afford the material necessary and the construction cost required in to install the necessary electricity generating equipment is nearly zero. I ask you, how many retirees will be retrofitting their homes with solar panels and windmills.?

Directs all state agencies to reduce emissions 10% in five years, 25% in ten years and 40% in 18 years,requiring fiscal analysis and impact tracking using a "Florida Governmental Carbon Scorecard";directs all governors agencies to assess current energy usage and "quantify" greenhouse gas emissions;requires DMS to adopt US Green Building Councils Leadership (USGBCLEED) in Energy and Environmental Design for New Construction standards for all new building, to implement the USGBCLEED plan for existing buildings currently owned and operated by the state, and prohibit governors agencies from entering any new contracts unless the space meets the USGBCLEED standards, to develop energy conservation measures and guidelines for new and existing office space, requires implementation of a "model solar project"; starting Jan 1 2008 agencies can not contract a meeting or conference space at hotels without a "green lodging" certification; requires every state agency to immediately assess transportation related energy uses and emissions which must be posted on the "FL Governmental Carbon Scorecard" by Oct 1, 2007; DMA may only approve vehicles with the greatest fuel efficiency (expect for law enforcement); all state agencies must use ethanol or biodiesel when available as determined by DMS who will assess demand by metro area, and agencies must procure biodiesel if needed
    - Wow. Breathtaking. More licensing, inspection, red tape. Construction of a state run "model solar project" and a new "green lodging" certification? Who's going to pay for all this? When possible, hotels will pass this additional cost on to visitor in the form of a green fee, but what about this use of ethanol, biodiesel and vehicles with only the greatest fuel efficiency? It's well noted ethanol is not only less efficient than oil based gas, but actually produces more harmful chemicals than gasoline, and can corrode engines from the inside out, destroy rubber seals and gaskets, clog fuel injectors and void some warranties if the mixture is too high. Besides, who's going to pay for this new line item for fuel purchase, replacing all state cars with more expensive and higher maintenance cost ethanol based vehicles. We don't know the answer to that question for any new policy change, because it hasn't been considered. Staff are working on that as we speak. Will the governor allow them to come to honest conclusions?

Creates the "Florida Governor's Action Team on Energy and Climate Change" which will develop a plan including policy recommendations and changes to existing law to successfully implement the aforementioned goals and changes; some of these recommendations must be issued by Nov of this year and the remainder by Oct of next year.
    - Think of this as the Governors private farm team onto which he will appoint what he hopes will be his next crop of agency heads and political hanger-ons eager to please and pull the GOP toward the "moderate" middle. This is the first step (a huge leap?) in dismantling Jeb's political infrastructure
.


This isn't merely a "call to action" as some have portrayed. This produces some of the largest increases of administrative growth ever implemented in Florida, creations of new regulatory measures, and directives to assess and implement state operations immediately. These things cost money, take time, and clog up the system with more red tape. Explain to me how that's remotely conservative or Republican?

July 13, 2007

Florida's newest environmentalist is a GOP!

Unlike the leader that many in the media are portraying Gov. Crist to be, I'm starting to think of him as more of a Goracle. His ego fattens as his gumption grows with every new poll that confirms it's hard to dislike a Governor that get's out of the way. Crist was elected on assurances of "Jeb like" leadership, strong conservative fiscal policies and discipline, with promises of maintaining low taxes and opposition to tax increases, opposition to invasive regulatory policies and action, opposition to red tape and growth of bureaucracy. His actions today are in direct contradiction to those positions. There was nothing conservative, nothing Republican, nothing even remotely helpful about today's initiatives.

Press coverage of his environmental plans has been summarized to a few talking points - reduction of gas emissions, energy goals, new standards - but the scope and details of the executive order he signed is truly breathtaking, and thus far ignored or glossed over by the bleeding heart liberals who are cheering him on.

All conservatives, but especially the House and Senate leadership who will be dealing with Cristened benchmarks for the next ten years, should take pause to consider the appropriate reaction, and the appropriate tone in which it should be done. This is not a time for meek response and repercussions. Crist has laid down the gauntlet and if someone does not rise to accept it, then power will be perceived to have swung back to the Governors mansion. Today's actions show what a dangerous turn of events that would be for the state of Florida.

Today, Florida conservatives met Gov. Hyde. For a man who should be leading our economy and state in a responsible manner these sweeping, unexpected and unplanned changes to our budget, economy and culture should be rebuked swiftly. They are at once irresponsible and reprehensible. I should think that conservatives and responsible Republican politicians would expect slower, moderate and compromised movement.

His actions today, if fully implemented, will undoubtedly undermine the short term foundations of Florida's economy, and ratchet up by exponential amounts state spending... with no clear revenue source. If fully implemented, it's not overly gloomy to predict continued reductions in revenue and tourism, coupled with increased mandatory state spending and no line item as of yet for some of these dictates. The money has to come from somewhere, and the responsibility will fall to the Legislature to move cautiously, not to commit dwindling state resources to unproven (and sometimes disproved) claims of wild exaggeration.

Why would a state facing insurance crisis take actions that will only serve to drive up the cost of coverage? Why would a state that depends on tourism take an action that ensures the price of a nights stay in a Florida hotel will increase? Why would a state that prides itself in personal responsibility, low taxes and few invasive policies take such a breathtaking step towards doing away with all three? Governor Crist, Florida is not California, and for good reason. This is a big mistake. Every conservative elected Representative and Senator should consider it as such and respond appropriately.

My Forecast - monumental tax increases and a slowing economy, which will only get worse, are on the horizon. Stormy regulatory seas and unprecedented power grab opportunities at agency levels across the entire state will allow Gov. Crist and his new environmental regulation into your homes, your cars, your businesses and your checkbook. The only way he could have done more damage would have been to invite ELF - whose dictates include "to inflict maximum economic damage... " - for the weekend with a get out of jail free card.

How will the new environmental standards impact Florida, state agencies, business and industries? I plan to have more tomorrow.

July 11, 2007

In a minute...

Checking email is the perfect activity for procrastinators....

so, I'm told.

The pursuit of happiness

In 1977, 35.7 percent of Americans rated themselves "very happy," 53.2 percent "pretty happy" and 11 percent "not too happy," reports the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago. In 2006, the figures are similar: 32.4 percent "very happy," 55.9 percent "pretty happy" and 11.7 percent "not too happy." Likewise, in most advanced countries, self-reported happiness has been flat for decades.

What makes a nation happy? What leads to increases in happiness? Are happiness and consumption linked? You should read it all, but here's the summary,

The popularity of happiness research suggests that economists and other social scientists think they can devise public policies to elevate the nation's feel-good quotient. This is an illusion.Happiness depends heavily on individual character and national culture.

I think the last line line says it all. I can tell you I'm not too happy with my country's character or culture at the moment. Are you?

July 10, 2007

Who do you Trust?

What is the basis of your trust? Arnold Kling discusses trust, trust in science and trust in politics in this short piece at TCS. Here's a couple excerpts,

the highest form of trust is trust in the processes followed by other parties, including the incentives governing those processes. Information that is developed using scientific methods, with careful consideration of alternative hypotheses and limitations of the data, comes from a reliable process. Transactions are most trustworthy when they take place in a context where similar transactions have proven trustworthy and cheating is easily detected and punished.

On science,

For information, it is easiest to trust scientific research when the methods seem capable of producing reliable results and the conclusions have little political significance. Many people distrust politically loaded scientific research because they do not like the conclusions, regardless of the quality of that research.

On politics,

If you can trust the processes of government, then that is a good thing. Good trust in government is based on processes that provide for accountability, checks and balances, equal protection, and punishment of official corruption.

Trusting the virtues of government leaders is a bad thing.

And,

Trusting the "will of the people" is also a bad thing. Democratic majorities can support inferior policies, infringement on people's rights, and even genocide. Popular voting is useful as a check on elites, but not as a tool for over-riding the principle of individual liberty.


June 06, 2007

Fred!

In case you're interested- www.I'mwithFred.com - the official Thompson site.

AC has issues.

George P. Bush likes him.

June 05, 2007

A Silent Spring still misleading America's Youth

A NY Times piece on the book that started it all, and how it's still misleading America's youth.

For Rachel Carson admirers, it has not been a silent spring. They’ve been celebrating the centennial of her birthday with paeans to her saintliness. A new generation is reading her book in school — and mostly learning the wrong lesson from it.

June 03, 2007

Senate District 3 - Mr. C picks Baxley

I haven't been reading much about the Senate 3 race to replace Nancy Argenziano... except for the near daily emails from the Baxley campaign (somebody's doing their homework). But I did get an email from somebody who started a site called "CharlieDeanisaRINO.com"  and a link to this You tube video in my inbox this morning. I looked around briefly this morning and didn't see anybody on it so there you go. Enjoy.

Even if I had never seen the video I can tell you here in Tallahassee all I hear on the radio is about Dennis Baxley, and knowing Dean is Argenziano's endorsed candidate (the only thing I've heard from the Dean camp) is not something that encourages me to vote for the guy.

And if I had never heard of Dennis Baxley, knowing that he passed the "Stand Your Ground" bill last year is all I need to know to vote for him.

But, he did other things too.

If appearances mean anything, and they mean everything in politics, then Baxley has the grassroots support, organization, fund raising, advertising, experience and credentials to win the Senate 3 seat this week. If he doesn't, I'll have to investigate why.

May 17, 2007

Another conservative targeted...

and cleared. Just one more example of baseless hate perpetrated by the left.

I know Mr. G will be happy.

May 11, 2007

Mandate?

Democrat control won't last long. Not with those numbers. Additionally, a third of democrats believe Bush and the CIA knew about the 9/11 attacks BEFORE they happened, in recent elections Democrats lied to voters about who they really were, they ran "conservative" candidates to win a majority, which they've taken advantage of to grandstand at the expense of our troops in harms way, they are lying about our National Guard capabilities and the number of dead in the wake of recent American natural disasters, they minimize the importance of real terror plots being discovered and stopped on American soil, they are race baiting candidates and journalists, challenging the faith and beliefs of a leading GOP presidential candidate, and they are sneaking earmarks into intelligence bills without review or disclosure. The castle is falling.

It's starting to look like 2008 will be a cleansing year for both parties. Who will come out on top when it's all said and done? Let's hope the GOP responds to voters actions in 2006 and runs candidates who are more conservative, not more centrist.

*all claims based on stories read this morning. No time to link. I apologize.

May 04, 2007

This is what we are fighting in Iraq

This is evil. This is our enemy.

For all of my liberal friends and readers who think the best way to fight our enemies is to run, to come home, to treat terrorist as criminals who deserve protection from prosecution; tell that to the girls who would soon be going to school here.

How do we save these kids if we leave?

April 24, 2007

No Doubt

At a campaign appearance in South Carolina last month, Romney, who has absorbed several of Jeb Bush's former aides, said, "Down in Florida, that Jeb Bush. He's quite a guy, isn't he? I love him. If his name weren't Bush, he'd be running for president, I'm convinced. And we'd all have to stand aside because he'd be such a sure-fire winner."

If only. CNN.

I'm starting to think about Jeb as a VP. It's very hard for me to think Jeb could handle being number two, and I'm having a hard time imagining anybody but Jeb beating these yahoos on the left. Jeb is such a strong policy wonk, and considering the "new model" of Vice Presidency that Cheney has developed over the years, much more influential in policy setting and project control, Jeb would really have a lot of direct control over policy setting without all the media attention. In a lot of ways, the VP may actually be a better fit in a world where the GWOT makes the presidency focused on interest not related to education, abortion, medicaid, medicare, social security, welfare, space exploration, Federalism, gun control, growth of government...

any of which I'd wager Jeb could give a lecture on at the drop of a hat.

April 18, 2007

September Dawn - Romney hitpiece from Clinton's Hollywood?

I'm not saying it is, it's hard to tell from a 1 minute clip, but you can make up your own mind. Here's the clip I came across tonight. And the IMDB listing.

I assume this movie will be coming out probably this fall. You have to question the motive behind the whole thing. I mean, I have a hard time imagining a movie about the early days of Mormonism would have anything more than a limited attraction at the box office. But if said film is likely to displease the very audience that would be most interested in such a topic, then what exactly is the marketing strategy here?

It can't be a good thing for a Mormon candidate to have a major motion picture depicting his faith in, how should I say it, a questionable way. A movie that uncovers a conspiratorial cover up about it's foundational members that has been kept under wraps for over century? Not good at all.

You don't think this was coordinated do you? I wonder if any of the actors are Scientologist who are jealous that the Mormons are fielding a candidate for President and all they got was this guy. Where's my tshirt BTW?

Oh, forgot about this guy, he's big. Funny actually, the pictures on the internet don't look anything like the ones on my fridge of him standing next to my wife. He's shorter than you would think.

Update: Well someone thought enough of it to ask Romney himself. And more information than anybody should possibly have about the event. If you read it all let me know what it says...

April 16, 2007

I guess it's time to start learning about this Duncan Hunter guy...

When it comes to what I believe the strongest candidate for President in my party just told me to get over it.

Not possible.

So, who's going to step up and take the mantle for the GOP?

Fred Thompson? Duncan Hunter? Somebody who's not fake, tanned, trimmed, polished or liberal. Anybody?

Bueller? Bueller?

April 03, 2007

Thoughts on the School Choice movement from one of it's leaders

I like to think of the Alliance for School Choice as the Marines of the School Choice movement. They go into hostile territory, survey the field, engage the enemy, and overcome all obstacles to bring school choice to those who need, and want it, the most - parents and students.

Their leader for the past three years, and one of, if not THE, most successful School Choice lawyers in the country, is stepping down. Clint Bolick offers his "Closing Comments" over at edspresso.

On the progress of School Choice movement...

The progress made by the school choice movement over the past three years is nothing short of remarkable.  Twenty new or expanded programs.  Last year, seven of 11 new or expanded programs were in states with Democratic governors, and the other in a state with an overwhelmingly Democratic legislature.  This year, the nation's first universal voucher program in Utah, with sliding-scale value based on income.  All very positive developments.  In all, the number of kids in targeted school choice programs has grown over the past three years from 92,000 to over 134,000; the amount of targeted publicly funded school choice has grown from $270 million to $571 million.  What amazes me is the paucity of media coverage of school choice.

...one lesson is that the school choice movement needs to learn a lot more about marketing.

On the compelling evidence of School Choice...

As Jay Greene has pointed out, despite assertions that academic findings vary on school choice, the following three points are uncontestable:  (1) all gold standard studies--that is, studies that compared randomly selected kids who applied for school choice programs with those who applied but didn't get in--show academic gains for choice students; (2) all studies examining the effects of meaningful school choice competition on public schools show academic gains; and (3) all studies examining economic and racial diversity find that choice schools are better integrated.  The case for private school choice, particularly for disadvantaged children, is compelling.

On Teacher Unions...

I can understand the unions' tenacious opposition to school choice. Their entire purpose is to represent their members' economic interests.  As the American Federation of Teachers' Albert Shanker once famously said, when kids become union members, then he'd represent the interests of kids. 

On Democrats...

Indeed, were it not for its dependency on unions, school choice should be a Democratic issue.

On Republicans...

Were Republicans ever seriously to get a clue about school choice, they could trigger a crisis among Democrats by forcing them to choose between two core constituencies: special interest groups who abhor school choice, and blacks and Hispanics who desperately need it.

On the Bush Administration...

On the one hand, the Bush Administration has been the most pro-school choice in history.  On the other, when push comes to shove...rhetoric has exceeded action.

I encourage you to visit the Alliance website (here's some information about school choice in Florida), and consider supporting them. After all, it for the kids!

powered by performancing firefox

April 02, 2007

Just think

...Romney declaring he raised $23 million during the first quarter,...

For a guy who is polling around 3% it's impressive he raised more money than any other candidates, except, there's really only one other serious candidate. But, it's also not surprising. Romney's primary fund raisers are all primarily Jeb's core fund raising team.

Imagine how much money they could have raised for Jeb.

The longer this goes on the more and more it becomes apparent Jeb is the only logical GOP candidate.

powered by performancing firefox

March 15, 2007

Nancy Pelosi, Code Pink and Ghandi

What do they have in common? Let Fred Thompson tell you.

After listening to that, tell me you didn't get a crooked smile just thinking of the fun it would be to have him on stage with any of the Dem candidates...

Your smile is why Fred thinks he can run.

March 14, 2007

Argenziano/Corcoran deal

I heard it this morning from a friend, but just realized I haven't seen anybody talking about it....

Except Florida Insider,

Argenziano-Corcoran deal struck (03/14/07)
It goes all the way to the top.

and I don't subscribe, so maybe somebody can tell me what happened at "the top?" From what I understand Argenziano either has been, or is assured, of a spot on the PSC and it was made possible by Corcoran  "assisting" something through for Governor Crist himself with assurances of support for the vacated Argenziano seat.

I'd like a little sunshine on that please.

Why don't I know already you may ask? Well, I'm busy working on an experiment. Maybe I'll tell you about it later.

A+ Education plan

Finally, conservatives are proposing an education plan that doesn't expand government and federal control.

Federal efforts to reduce the education gap have failed miserably over four decades of trying. No Child Left Behind identified whats' wrong (no standards or accountability) but can't possibly solve the problem with a broad generic reform for all schools. The solution? State and local control over reform.

Watch the video for a brief summary, it's under 2 minutes.

March 13, 2007

The '08 Horserace

The Political Derby '08 Power Rankings (as of March 12). Take 'em for what they're worth.

Anybody ever heard of Ron Paul?

March 12, 2007

Global Warming?

The BBC movie you've heard about that exposes GW as a political agenda and a scientific religion. The whole thing is more than an hour, but it's solid. Go ahead and click it, the fist two minutes sum up the important message.

March 09, 2007

You mean it doesn't work when you spoon feed them information?

Education that is remembered.

March 08, 2007

The Plan

The Florida House of Representatives has proposed a bold plan to transform the way we pay for government services. The proposed Constitutional Amendment would:                      

Eliminate all property taxes for homestead homeowners.             

Roll-back most property tax rates to 2000-2001 levels plus inflation and population growth for non-homestead homeowners and commercial property owners. (Property taxes for schools, payment of bonds and voter approved property taxes are not rolled back.)             

Limit future increases in all property taxes, including those that fund schools, to inflation and population growth.             

Limit the growth of state government to 2000-2001 levels plus annual inflation and population growth.             

Protect taxpayers by requiring a unanimous vote of a local commission or board to override the constitution.             

Provide funding for local government with an additional 2.5% state sales tax which is paid by Floridians and tourists.

Get more details and sign the petition here.

March 06, 2007

Sound Familiar?

From the American Spectator, Jeb in 2008? posted on 2/27/07

Somebody with major name ID, with access to large amounts of money and organizational might at a moment's notice, and with a solid reputation across the Republican philosophical spectrum.

Of course, Jeb Bush qualifies on all counts.

BUT WHY WOULD HE RUN when the name Bush is so unpopular these days?

From PEER Review FL, The Case for Jeb Part I, and Part II, both written way back in June 2005.

Governor Jeb Bush is the only Republican with the requisite name ID, governing experience, conservative credentials, political ties and fund raising ability to even compete with the Clintons. He is term limited out of office in 2006 giving him two years without obligation to elected office.

Read both pieces. There are some differences, namely they don't go into as much detail as PEER Review FL, but I'll let you decide where they got the main idea.

Oh, good lord...

Charlie is now proposing Florida find a solution to "global climate change." He's going to look silly latching on to this "popular" problem when "global climate change" is proven to be completely out of our control.

Forget about Rubio for President, how about for Governor?

Overall impressions of Charlie and his speech this afternoon? Money, money. money. This guy wants to spend.

Education is a civil right?

So, says Governor Charlie Crist, aka "The People's Governor," in the state of the state address today.

I ask, is education a civil right?

Also, wants funding for "reading coaches" and "virtual tutoring" to help raise reading scores. Do underprivileged kids and families have access to "virtual" anything?

He rolled out the "children must be our first priority" rhetoric too.

Rubio for President?

In today's opening session Senate President Ken Pruitt pledged his support for US President to Marco Rubio in 2008. Pruitt presented him with a "Rubio in 2008" sign, to which Rubio responded, "I can't afford the pay cut."

Let's see if this collegiality continues on other issues this session, namely, repeal of property taxes.

February 16, 2007

I'm not comfortable with this Romney fellow...

And this is just one reason why.

"Romney confirmed he voted for former U.S. Sen. Paul Tsongas in the state's 1992 Democratic presidential primary, saying he did so both because Tsongas was from Massachusetts and because he favored his ideas over those of Bill Clinton," the Boston Globe's Scot Lehigh and Frank Phillips wrote on Feb. 3, 1994. "He added he had been sure the G.O.P. would renominate George Bush, for whom he voted in the fall election."

Romney's contention that his vote for Tsongas was a vote for the weakest opponent for Bush - a phenomenon that political scientists refer to as "raiding" - surprised Professor William Mayer of Northeastern University in Boston.

"That would have been a strange election to have done that in, in the sense that Paul Tsongas was obviously going to carry his home state" of Massachusetts, said Mayer. Tsongas won the Massachusetts primary with 66 percent of the vote.

I recently wrote a game theory paper trying to project when voters should "Raid" and when they shouldn't. My focus was on Congressional and state level races, primarily b/c my research led me to believe it's not possible to effectively "Raid" in races larger than that. Raiding is first a numbers problem that requires a large enough spread of voters to win a primary and allow "Raiding" to have an effect in an opponents primary. Then it becomes a cooperation problem where voters need to organize and plan strategically before they ever think about defecting. Imagine the difficulty of convincing a truly Independent or conservative voter to consider voting for someone he doesn't believe in, and when you eventually consider that's not possible to do on a large enough scale, then tell me how wise it would be do it anyway, as a single voter. Seriously, I'm not comfortable with this guy.

I have no doubt that Romney was trying to vote strategically, but his strategy was trying to ensure favor and support from his home state liberals for a successful political career; he wanted to look like one of them. I've got to tell you this poor decision making and attempts at revisionist history has me thinking he is one of them.

In any event, he most certainly was not trying to ensure a weaker opponent in the 92 General Election. He's intelligent enough to know Tsongas would win Mass. and then promptly lose everywhere else. "Raiding" in Mass in 92 would have been ludicrous.

Now, my current problem with Romney isn't really that he voted for a Democrat, but that he gives us this cock and bull story about how he was voting for a well known liberal democrat trying to ensure a weaker opponent, when the truth - he was trying to win favor among liberals in a liberal state - is an acceptable explanation for a professional career politician in a very liberal state. He just doesn't want to tell us the truth. Why not? I wonder what else he doesn't want to tell us.

We will find out in due time.

February 05, 2007

GW Deniers

Apparently, critics of Global Warming are now being referred to as "deniers" in an effort to discredit them by equating them with Holocaust deniers. It's too bad, and ironic. The efforts of GW activist will likely create, in effect, a disaster of global scale perpetrated on the poor people of this planet who will be denied cheap energy to develop industry, business, economic development, and sustainable economies to grow their countries, establish financial independence, and feed their children the necessities of life, like McDonald's french fries. Better, I guess, to keep them dependent on UN rice bags for survival.

Who are these deniers anyway? What are they saying? Are they right-wing extremist trying to suppress overwhelming evidence of GW?

As an impetuous chemistry undergrad I once bought into the GW  "science" hook, line and sinker. I was dazzled by the findings of scientist who, I thought, were doing amazing work. The truth is I was amazed by the results and lacked the skills to dig deeper. Now that I'm older, and more learned, I'm less dazzled by results and more impressed by strong statistical findings of theory based research that employs sound methods.

But you don't need a chemistry degree to wonder about science or a Ph.D. to raise a question about methods; most people have good intuition about questionable claims of fact. If you've every read a political poll and thought it unlikely that 100 people can represent the views of 7 million on any given policy topic, then you, my friend, are exactly like me. Sometimes a small sample poll can, in fact, do such a thing; depending on the methods employed and the validity of the analysis 100 people can tell you a great deal about 7 million or 70 million. Who among us is qualified to assess such a thing?

I certainly don't think I am overtly qualified to make a case for an alternative causal theory to emissions-based-GW. But, I detest the elitist attitude that I am under-qualified to ask questions and have suspicions. How many political candidates would have given up if they accepted what the political polls told them early in a race?

For those interested in thoughtful dissent grounded in science, here is a series of stories in the Canadian National Post on GW and it's critics. You will find thoughtful criticism throughout and brief CV (resume) highlights concluding each piece.

Statistics needed -- The Deniers Part I
Warming is real -- and has benefits -- The Deniers Part II
The hurricane expert who stood up to UN junk science -- The Deniers Part III
Polar scientists on thin ice -- The Deniers Part IV

The original denier: into the cold -- The Deniers Part V
The sun moves climate change -- The Deniers Part VI
Will the sun cool us? -- The Deniers Part VII
The limits of predictability -- The Deniers Part VIII
Look to Mars for the truth on global warming -- The Deniers Part IX
Limited role for C02 -- the Deniers Part X

The Real Deal?

February 01, 2007

Teddy Roosevelt on being American

Quote from Teddy Roosevelt. Discuss among yourselves -

There is no room in this country for hyphenated Americanism. When I refer to hyphenated Americans, I do not refer to naturalized Americans. Some of the very best Americans I have ever known were naturalized Americans, Americans born abroad. But a hyphenated American is not an American at all. This is just as true of the man who puts "native" before the hyphen as of the man who puts German or Irish or English or French before the hyphen. Americanism is a matter of the spirit and of the soul. Our allegiance must be purely to the United States. We must unsparingly condemn any man who holds any other allegiance. But if he is heartily and singly loyal to this Republic, then no matter where he was born, he is just as good an American as any one else. The one absolutely certain way of bringing this nation to ruin, of preventing all possibility of its continuing to be a nation at all, would be to permit it to become a tangle of squabbling nationalities, an intricate knot of German-Americans, Irish-Americans, English- Americans, French-Americans, Scandinavian- Americans, or Italian-Americans, each preserving its separate nationality, each at heart feeling more sympathy with Europeans of that nationality than with the other citizens of the American Republic. The men who do not become Americans and nothing else are hyphenated Americans; and there ought to be no room for them in this country. The man who calls himself an American citizen and who yet shows by his actions that he is primarily the citizen of a foreign land, plays a thoroughly mischievous part in the life of our body politic. He has no place here; and the sooner he returns to the land to which he feels his real heart-allegiance, the better it will be for every good American.

January 29, 2007

Jeb Bush Rallies Conservatives

That goes without saying. Jeb Bush's second inauguration address contained a line that went something like this,

"There would be no greater tribute to our maturity as a society than if we can make these buildings around us empty of workers - silent monuments to the time when government played a larger role than it deserved or could adequately fill."

That line encouraged me to make a decision that included moving to Florida. The rest is history.

Yesterday, Jeb was making inspirational speech again, and it doesn't sound like retirement speech...

It's important for us to realize we lost, and there are significant reasons that happened, but it isn't because conservatives were rejected. But it's because we rejected the conservative philosophy in this country."

He added, "If the promise of pork and more programs is the way Republicans think they'll regain the majority, then they've got a problem."

If he could be elected Jeb Bush would become, hands down, the defining GOP president. But, we aren't at a place yet when Jeb could enter the race, or even consider running, for President. Besides him saying, repeatedly, that he is not running, solid conservatives like myself wish he were.

Running or not his words will be remembered in the early election season as the field of potential GOP candidates ply their worth in early primary states, one of which is possibly going to be Florida.

Are they solid conservatives? Do they understand what they are saying, or is it just a long string of sound bites? Do they talk the talk? Have they walked the walk? Do they have the "special sauce" needed to find success and popular support in a difficult media environment?

What's a scenario in which Jeb gets the nomination? A complete collapse of the current field and a sufficient surge of support for Hillary that pushes conservatives to find a candidate who can confront the Hillary myth (Rick Lazio need not apply)... or, IHMO a potential McCain-Clinton race which is to say it's not a race - you lose no matter what you do.

Basically, Jeb Bush doesn't need to enter the race when he can be begged into it.

Likely? No. Possible? Yes.

So stay tuned, and watch for more "pork busting" speeches from Jeb in the next year. I I'll be watching for the subtle signs.

January 22, 2007

Something I bet you didn't know about Planned Parenthood...

Found this little tidbit today in a press release from Project 21-

The founding of Planned Parenthood, originally founded as the National
Birth Control League in 1916 and later called the American Birth
Control League before adopting its current name in 1942, is largely
credited to Margaret Sanger.  In the late 1930s, Sanger began a program
known as the "Negro Project" that sought to improve public health and
welfare by encouraging abortions in the black community.  This agenda
was promoted in part by befriending black ministers.

powered by performancing firefox

December 21, 2006

Chrirstmas Spirit?

BAAH humbug! In this Access Hollywood clip The Donald has some harsh words in reaction to Rosie, who spoke ill of Trump on The View yesterday.

The best part? The Donald says he has people he can "send over" to take Rosie's girlfriend!

Unless you like name calling, then you'll think there are multiple other "best parts."

The reason for the season? Hardly.

Merry Christmas!

December 07, 2006

Christian/Islamic Cold War?

If the radicals had their way, then Christianity and Islam would be engaged in full blown war today. The moderates want to avert war and, I think, most sane people do too. I personally believe radical Islam is every bit as dangerous as Communism, and we (the US and other free democratic countries) managed to defeat the threat of Communism without direct action between the two superpowers. If we thought of the struggle between Christianity and Islam in the same terms, could we find a peace through deterance similar to that of the cold war? Should we?

I really haven't thought about this beyond the passing conjectures about how wise it was to bring in people like Jim Baker and his frame of reference to work on the Iraq Study Group. But it led me to these questions, and I thought I'd pose them here.

What if the war on terror really is the beginnings of a Christian v. Islam cold war? What would that mean for the world? Are the implications of an Islamist superpower acceptable to our security or our morality?

December 01, 2006

Elephant in the room

I guess you could see these images and come to the same conclusions as PEER Review.

Now, read this piece from Kathleen Parker of the Orlando Sentinel (see Real Clear Politics) and convince me that PRFL isn't influencing media in Florida.

November 28, 2006

Going to see "Bobby" this weekend?

Read a primer on Robert Kennedy you won't get from the movie. Here's a teaser -

California Governor Ronald Reagan, for one, was delighted with Kennedy's approach. ``He's talking more and more like me,'' Reagan said approvingly.

November 22, 2006

Homeschool is good for me...

...and for thee. But don't take my word for it, listen to the Fresh Prince of Bel Air -

Will Smith says he and his wife Jada Pinkett Smith homeschool their children because the most valuable things he learned he didn’t get from school. “The date of the Boston Tea Party does not matter,” Smith told Reader’s Digest. “I know how to learn anything I want to learn. I absolutely know that I could learn how to fly the space shuttle because someone else knows how to fly it, and they put it in a book. Give me the book, and I do not need somebody to stand up in front of the class.”

I like Will Smith, and I agree there is nothing you learn in shool that can't be taught at home by any parent. In fact, there are lots of things kids learn at school that they would be better off not knowing (immorality, athieism, drug use, sex, lack of respect, laziness, accomodation, excuses, etc.).

November 13, 2006

Jeb would be better

As either Chairman or Senator. I'd be happier either way.

Ditto for this job.

powered by performancing firefox

November 01, 2006

What's wrong with MSM example #1,259,372 or Why all Republicans and fiscal conservatives should get out and vote

This morning I was treated to a "piece" that seems to call outright for higher taxes.
"...every election, it's the same thing: a whole bunch of candidates and voters insisting that taxes have to be reduced. Enough already. Taxes are money collected from all to spend on all. We couldn't get by without them. And those who would make reducing or eliminating them the centerpiece of their political stance are shortsighted."
Shocking? Not to those who read the Tallahassee Democrat. Here's more,
"The biggest misnomer by tax complainers is that someone is trying to take "my money." There is no "my money." It's a colloquialism, a figure of speech.

You didn't create the state government that pays you. You didn't create the factory that employs you. You didn't create the trees for lumber, the chemicals for plastics or the computers for accounting. You didn't create the need for people to buy food, live in houses, get electric services, drive trucks or write for a newspaper. Every job and every dollar anyone earns is a product of all of us living together in society. Without society, we'd all still be naked and grubbing for bugs.

To keep society operating, everyone has to pay a share. And as our society gets bigger and more services are created, we often have to pay more than we did in the past."

He couldn't be more wrong in more ways if he had a "Make it WRONG" button built into Word.

I'm pretty sure there are some references in the Declaration to Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness that address this very issue. Maybe Gerald should read it.

For the rest of us, remember there are people out there who believe the things you own belong to them. They believe you have no stake, no claim to the fruits of your labor. They believe you are greedy, shortsighted and mean spirited for wanting to keep the wealth you earn, for wanting to enjoy the home you built, for wanting to plan for the security of you children. They want you to make up for their mistakes. They're called democrats. They're called socialist. They're called journalist. They're called liberal.

My response? Kiss my butt. I'm voting Republican. They may be spending too much money and they may be horribly innefficient, but at least the GOP isn't proposing to take more of it.

Not yet anyway.



powered by performancing firefox

October 26, 2006

Charlie Crist is Gay... again

I hesitate to post this, and I have no time to talk about it, but the gay rumor has finally hit the wires in this election cycle.

It feels like a hit job to me, and I suspect this Jason Weatherington kid is actually gay and telling lies to seem important. One thing is for sure, he won't be be workign in a Crist administration.

I don't personally think there is enough time for this rumor to impact the race in terms of vote totals in smaller markets, so unless there is a ten point swing in a majority of th emajor markets then this allegation will only tighten the race, not lose it for Crist. I predict Crist still wins but the margin will be more like 2%.

Talk amongst yourselves.

October 06, 2006

Ass as in donkey, eh democrat?

Former President Bush says Hugo Chavez, "is an ass." (video)

October 02, 2006

Joe Negron to replace Mark Foley?

I couldn't think of anyone better.

Technorati Tags: ,

powered by performancing firefox

September 10, 2006

Ron Klein is still a lobbyist, and still losing

I was reading up on the Shaw v Klein race over at Real Clear Politics and I found this polling data from the Majority Watch at Constituent Dynamics. It shows, as of two weeks ago, Clay Shaw was leading the lobbyist Ron Klein by 8 (MOE 3.1).

Analytically this looks like a very strong poll (large N and strong sampling methodology).

Strategically this looks to reflect reality; Clay Shaw has won this seat in 13 consecutive elections (26+ years) and is in line to take control of the powerful Ways and Means Committee when he wins. Ron Klein is a lobbyist/lawyer who skirts registration and accountability expectations and is running in a year of low voter turnout, with a guaranteed democrat victory in the US Senate race, a guaranteed democrat loss in the FL Governors race, and an emotional deep seated dissain for lobbyist and lawyers.

Voters are not motivated or needed to affect the outcome of any major race in Florida this year, less so for someone who appears to be made up of questionable ethical positions. Combined with the realization that registered Republicans outnumber Democrats in US 22, and Ron Kleins State Senate Districts overlaps the US 22nd District by roughly 25%, I predict Clay Shaw will hold this seat.

September 09, 2006

For additional reading on conservatives, liberals and race

Read this by John Derbyshire. Thoughts on this article from La Shawn Barber are also worth a read.

Democrats big problem with Davis

Race. Articles appearing in the media as early as Thursday began to reinforce a suspicion I had that the democrats weren't all on-board with the same agenda, and I don't think the problem lies entirely with Davis. Let me explain...

Continue reading "Democrats big problem with Davis" »

September 08, 2006

New anti-immigration plan from the democrats

And, I have to say I think I like it. It involves raising minimum wages in an effort to purposely cut jobs, the very low wage low skilled jobs that illegal immigrants are employed in.

It's probably the only argument that could ever get me to support a minimum wage increase. But, you can bet, if democrats are in charge of implementing this plan it will back fire. The plan requires strict enforcement and we all know that's not something the demo' do best. Spending your money, they can do that. Enforcing laws and fighting terrorism, not so good.

Read about it at Hispanic Pundit and more commentary at Marginal Revolution.




powered by performancing firefox

September 05, 2006

Post Election first thoughts

Congratulations to all the winners out there.

First thoughts? The margin on the Crist/Gallagher race is much larger than any polls I remember projecting. Maybe it's worth taking a look to figure out what the pollsters were smoking.

I'm thinking if Gallagher had better polling data from the beginning he would have never gone so far with this thing. I still think, as do many others, he would have killed Nelson in a Senate race. But losing by 30+ will end any fanciful notions of switching to the US Senate.

I'm not convinced Jim Davis has walked away with the Dem. nomination, but it does look like he will eventually pull out the victory. He'll appear very weak against an opponent that beat down a right wing challenger by 30+. There will be no chance of the dems framing Charlie as an out of control right wing extremist in the General Election; not that they have the money to do it anyway.

I'm excited to see Will McBride will do so well. We should see more of him in the future.

If Tom Lee had trounced Randy Johnson vis a vis Crist did Gallagher, I would predict a victory for him in November. But he didn't. And I won't. He'll get my vote, but if the GOP loses any seats this November it's the CFO seat.

That's all for now. I've already started wondering about who will be LG and I'm thinking the front runners now have to be Allen Bense and Jennifer Carroll.

Liberals - The Enemy within

Those are the sentiments of JD Pendry when it comes to Democrats and the war on terror. I recommend you read them before you vote... or anytime really.

Print it off and give it to your kids. Explain to them why appeasement to terrorism and Islamofacism means suicide. Say a prayer for people like like JD, not for a change of heart, but for giving thanks that people like him are out there willing to do the dirty work to keep us safe.

See JD's bio here.

Sorry, Tom. Primary Day is not turning out.

This lame attempt by someone who supports you, be they official or not, is another perfect example of why your campaign never took hold. A little over the top, a little too late, and a little too hypocritical.

Gallagher really can't criticize Charlie Crist on his "personal" issues without the whole thing coming back around to Gallagher, and since Gallagher has never been particularly believable on the political issues because of his own "personal" issues, it seems to be quite a quandry.

Today is Primary Day, and turnout is low. The Gallagher Campaign has already blasted an email (1:30pm) claiming "record low turnout" which is either -

1) True and could be either good news (organization is a big plus in low turnout elections)

2) True and bad news (he's never been ahead in the polls so what are the odds on a low turnout primary only Gallagher supporters show up?)

3) Not True and the early numbers are not looking good for the Gallagher campaign and they are trying to motivate their organization.

There's really no way of knowing until about 5pm, at which point internal exit polls should be getting leaked, but at this point I'd say there is a 2/3 chance it's bad news for the Gallagher camp.

In the meantime, I want to encourage all PRFL readers to vote. Vote for the man you think can best lead the state of Florida and don't let last minute smear tactics influence you. And be sure to vote for your local candidates too!

If you want to read about an interesting idea check this out. Now, start making your plans for the victory party you want to attend, it looks like there will be plenty of beer to go around. If you need a list of good candidates here are a few endorsement lists -

Mr. C

Mr. G

O'Blog

Florida Masochist

Statewide results should be available here after polls close.

UPDATE: To be fair, the Crist Campaign just sent their email (4:05pm) urging everyone to get out and vote claiming,

"we are hearing reports that turnout is low and it is imperitive that Charlie Crist Republicans cast their ballots."

Analysis: Either they are slower in getting their reports, or the reports are that turnout is low but most people are voting for Crist. Thus, less urgency. Stay tuned to find out which it is.

UPDATE 2: A second email (4:52pm) from the Gallagher Campaign urging voters to vote in the final two hours.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

powered by performancing firefox

September 01, 2006

Campaign Reform was a mistake

Remember McCain - Feingold? This must read editorial asserts it was a mistake. I agree.

You should spend the next 60 days thinking about it and wonder about it's implications in 2008. No doubt Republicans will use M-F this year to help stem off a "perceived" D take over (one I am yet to be convinced will materialize), but all bets are off in 2008 when the White House is up for grabs.

It frightens me to think of the amount of information hidden from voters (by law!) in a Clinton v. McCain race. It could be the first time in history two candidates with more negatives than positives vie for the most powerful position in the world.

Mr. C

powered by performancing firefox

August 25, 2006

Mr. C's Primary Picks (State and Local)

Mr. C's picks:

US Senator
Will McBride

US House
Dist. 8:  Ric Keller

Dist. 9:  Gus Bilirakis

Dist 13:  Mark Flanagan

Governor
Charlie Crist

Chief Financial Officer
Randy Johnson

Florida Senate
Dist. 8:  Randall Terry

Dist. 10:  Sandra Murman

Dist. 38: Frank Bolanos

Florida House
Dist. 34:  David Mealor

Dist. 41: Steve Precourt

Dist. 48: Peter Nehr

Dist. 49:  John Quinones

Dist. 54: Rod Jones

Dist. 107: Robert Fernandez

Leon County 

County Judge Group 3: Lisa Raleigh

County Commission At Large: John Griffin

County Commission District 4: Will Messer

County Commission District 5: Frank Mayernick

Superintendent of Schools: Jackie Pons

Tallahassee

City Commission Seat 3: Anthony "Dr. V" Viegbesie

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

powered by performancing firefox

Mr. G Says...

Out of State Allies

PRFL Contributors

Syndication

  • Get this widget from Widgetbox

Copyright and Disclaimer