September 11, 2007

Meet Joe Durso

Joe Durso, former aide to State Senator Lee Constantine, is running for the Florida State House of Representative in District 37, the seat currently held by term-limited Representative David Simmons. I've known Joe for years. He is very smart; he is hard-working; and he knows how to influence legislation in Tallahassee. He will be a very effective Legislator for Central Florida.

As a member of the host committee for the fundraiser below, I encourage you to support Joe.

Joe_durso_4

(Cross posted at Altamonte Springs Community Blog.)

September 05, 2007

Crist on Hometown Democracy

This is from an e-mail I received from Floridians for Smarter Growth:

Hometown_democracy_3

Click here for the referenced article.

August 29, 2007

NKOTB

There's a new kid on the conservative block. Check out GOP News.

Also, check out State of Sunshine for a list of Florida conservative blogs. Mr. Johnson and crew continue to shine.

July 20, 2007

Odds & Ends

Some odds and ends for your pre-weekend reading:

Is Al Gore a hypocrite?

Republican Governors' endorsements

McCain drops like a bag of dirt

Congressman John Mica's effort to reduce global warming

This is why Jeb ignored them

July 19, 2007

New RPOF Web Site

Here's a press release from the Republican Party of Florida:

RPOF Launches New Website

Tallahassee —The Republican Party of Florida launched its new website today, www.rpof.org. The interactive website allows visitors to access breaking news, download video and audio files, download podcasts, and sign up to volunteer in their communities.

“The new RPOF website is a state-of-the-art online connection for grassroots activists, Republican elected officials, volunteers, and those who are interested in the daily activities of the Party,” noted RPOF Chairman Jim Greer . “We have harnessed the latest technology to keep visitors informed, provide a forum for discussion, and link them with opportunities to get involved.”

The RPOF website allows visitors to search press releases, get up-to-the-minute news, volunteer to help, learn about Republican accomplishments, or simply browse. It is part of a comprehensive communications approach that targets grassroots activists, voters, and those who are seeking additional information about the Party’s activities.

“The new RPOF website allows us to connect and interact with people in a way that is dynamic and cutting-edge,” concluded Chairman Greer. “As we head into the 2008 election cycle, it will be a valuable tool for educating voters, enhancing fundraising initiatives, and reaching out to our grassroots activists.”

July 09, 2007

GOP Hub

Commenter Jon says check out GOP Hub.

I dugg the post with this photo:

Algore

Check it out.

July 03, 2007

McCain in Trouble

As reported in the Chicago Tribune (and in other media), the McCain campaign is in trouble. Will he make it to the primary? Should he make it to the primary?

June 29, 2007

A Warped Popular Culture

How can we change our "warped popular culture"?

Read today's editorial from the Florida Times Union.

They suggest that "mainstream media must take a leadership role."

I suggest that mainstream media is a big part of the warped popular culture.

I do agree with the advice to turn off the TV. More than an hour per day, for kids or adults, is too much (not including televised college football games or The Office marathons.)

What do you think?

June 26, 2007

What About Mormons?

This photo made my day:

Newyork

(Source: Eye on Miami)

Unfortunately (call me biased), you don't have to be Roman Catholic to get to the White House. If that were the case, my preferred candidate, Sam Brownback, would be polling better than 2%.

And don't tell me that Giuliani is Catholic. He's about as Catholic as John Kerry and Ted Kennedy. Call them Halfolics, but not Catholics.

June 25, 2007

Time for McCain to Drop

Following recent poll results that show him fourth among Republican contenders, a new Rasmussen poll shows that John McCain would lose to Hillary Clinton in a general election match-up. The same poll shows that only 16% of voters would definitely vote for John McCain while 42% would definitely vote against him.

With a crowded and confusing field of candidates, the Republicans are in danger of ceding the White House back to the Clintons. The time has come to downsize the GOP field so that attention and resources can be given to candidates with a legitimate shot. Other than Thompson, Giuliani and Romney, all lagging candidates should drop from the race. This includes my preferred choice, Sam Brownback. Although there is something to be said for the benefits of having true conservatives in the race (Brownback, Huckabee) to promote debate and discussion about conservative values, their presence is draining support for legitimate candidates.

McCain is especially draining. Every dollar he raises, every amount of media coverage he gains, every voter he contacts, diverts attention away from Thompson, Giuliani and Romney.

Nevertheless, even though McCain won't win the nomination, his endorsement could very well determine the winner. Perhaps that is what he is holding out for. I just think he should do it sooner rather than later.

June 19, 2007

Fred is Ahead (for now)

The latest Rasmussen poll has Fred Thompson overtaking Rudy Giuliani as the leader for the Republican nomination. Here are the current rankings:

Fred Thompson - 28%
Rudy Giuliani - 27%
Mitt Romney - 10%
John McCain - 10%
Sam Brownback - 2%
Mike Huckabee - 2%

This is good news for Mitt Romney.

June 07, 2007

Fred Scores Again

In response to my earlier post about Congressman Adam Putnam's support of Fred Thompson, I received this e-mail from Florida State Representative Seth McKeel:

Hey Bob,

Hope all's well with you.  Wanted to let you know that I have discussed the Thompson campaign at length with Congressman Putnam.  He asked for my support and I'm excited to come on board the Florida team with the Congressman.

I am real excited about supporting a consistent conservative who possesses a clear vision for America.

Thanks for all you do!

Seth McKeel 

In addition to being a popular Legislator from Polk County (in the middle of I-4) and a rising star in the GOP, Seth McKeel is an active contributor to Empirical Polk, one of the best hyperlocal blogs in Florida. 

This is another big endorsement for Fred Thompson in a critical region of the state. 

June 05, 2007

GOP Poll Results

The latest Rasmussen poll shows a shake-up among the GOP candidates now that Fred Thompson is a candidate.  Here are the results:

Giuliani - 23%
Thompson - 17%
Romney - 15%
McCain - 14%

IMHO, the favorability/unfavorability ratings are more telling.  According to the Rasmussen poll:

"Giuliani is viewed favorably by 82% of Republicans and unfavorably by 15%. For McCain, the numbers are 63% favorable, 32% unfavorable. In his home state of Arizona, McCain is currently viewed favorably by just 47% of all voters.

Thompson and Romney have much lower name recognition than Giuliani and McCain. Thompson is viewed favorably by 59% of Republicans and unfavorably by just 14%. Fifty-six percent (56%) of Republicans have a favorable opinion of Romney while 28% hold an unfavorable view."

The surprises among these results is that only 15% of likely Republican primary voters have an unfavorable opinion of Giuliani, which is a good sign for his campaign.  The results, on the other hand, are bad news for Romney and McCain.  We already know that McCain is done, but for Romney to have a 28% unfavorable rating is not good.  I don't know how the Romney campaign can change those minds.   

As for the two leading candidates, Thompson is enjoying a (temporary?) surge from the news that he is officially running, rising from 12% to 17% since the previous Rasmussen poll.  We'll have to see how his numbers hold up over a month or two.  And Giuliani can hardly be happy that his numbers continue to drop.  Right now, it looks to be an open race for the nomination, with three candidates having a shot but each with challenges to overcome.

Of course, after tonight's debate, another shake-up could occur.

May 31, 2007

Campaign Ads

Vote for your favorite campaign ads at CampaignAds.org. The Web site includes campaign ads for Republican and democrat candidates as well as issue-oriented ads.

(Disclaimer: The Stop The Scam ad is about petition reform in general, and not specifically about Hometown Democracy.)

May 29, 2007

Stick a Fork in John McCain

The latest Rasmussen poll has Mitt Romney overtaking John McCain for second place. The results for leading GOP candidates were:

Rudy Giuliani - 25% (and falling?)
Mitt Romney - 16% (and climbing!)
John McCain - 15% (he's done)
Fred Thompson - 12% (missed his window)

May 25, 2007

GOP Straw Poll

(h/t GOPbloggers.org)

May 24, 2007

Florida Poll Results

Results from a recent poll by Datamar, Inc.:

PRESIDENT - FLORIDA - GOP PRIMARY
Rudy Giuliani 27%
Fred Thompson 22%
Mitt Romney 18%
John McCain 12%
Mike Huckabee 3%
Ron Paul 2%
Sam Brownback 2%
Duncan Hunter 2%
Tommy Thompson 2%
Tom Tancredo 1%
Jim Gilmore 0%
Bob O'Malley 0%

PRESIDENT - FLORIDA - DEM PRIMARY
John Edwards 26%
Hillary Clinton 24%
Barack Obama 20%
Bill Richardson 7%
Joe Biden 6%
Dennis Kucinich 3%
Chris Dodd 1%
Mike Gravel 0%
Michael Hussey 0%

(h/t The Hedgehog Report)

May 20, 2007

Giuliani in Orlando

I attended a luncheon on Friday with Mayor Rudy Giuliani as the featured speaker. Over 200 people attended the lunch, including Attorney General Bill McCollum, Orange County Mayor Rich Crotty, and several Florida Legislators and local elected officials.

Not surprisingly, Mayor Giuliani's speech focused on two main areas: fiscal conservatism and the war on terrorism. He spoke about his experience in these two areas as Mayor of NYC. He did not discuss social issues, a smart strategy by his campaign. In comparison, when I saw Romney and Brownback speak, they went out of their way to tout their conservative views on abortion and other social issues.

Although I disagree with Giuliani on some social issues, I did appreciate the fact that his negative comments were directed at the policies of the democrats, and not on his fellow GOP candidates. On the downside, he spoke fondly of the New York Yankees. As a Red Sox fan, I don't much care for Giuliani's position on that particuar issue*.

* Come to think of it, the Boston-New York rivalry may grow if Giuliani and Romney emerge as the top two candidates.

May 17, 2007

Poll: Edwards, Romney in lead

A PRFL reader sent me a link to a different type of Presidential poll, the results of which have John Edwards leading the other candidates from both parties (When you spend $400 on a haircut, you should look good.) Mitt Romney is #2, followed by Baraq Obama. Most surprising result: Al Gore is #5. Least surprising result: Hillary Clinton is last.

May 16, 2007

Pro-Life Views on GOP Candidates

Roman Catholic Blog cites sources that seem to indicate that pro-life conservatives favor Fred Thompson. The posted excerpts are critical of Rudy Giuliani, but Mitt Romney takes a beating in the comments.

This highlights the problems facing the GOP. Thompson is not yet a candidate and may be too late, Giuliani is not a Republican and Romney clearly hasn't sold the base. (Not to leave anyone out: McCain is crazy, Jeb won't run because his last name is Bush, Gingrich has too much baggage and the others, including my preferred candidate, Sam Brownback, are unelectable.) Looks like I'll be getting one of these bumper stickers, but with 2012 on it.

May 10, 2007

Elect Eric

I'm on the host committee for a fundraiser tonight for Eric Eisnaugle. Eric is a 2008 Republican candidate for the Florida House of Representatives, District 40. The seat is currently held by term-limited Representative Andy Gardiner. Eric is an attorney in Orlando and currently serves as President of the Orange County Young Republicans. He is smart, conservative and an all-around good guy. Keep an eye on him.

May 04, 2007

McCain the Spartan

He will follow Osama Bin Laden to the gates of hell???

John McCain must have just watched 300.

Personally, I would have quoted Pirates of the Caribbean: "We will find Osama bin Laden and treat him to a short drop and a quick stop."

May 03, 2007

Vintage Giuliani

As I was driving on I-4 yesterday, I noticed some graffiti on a overpass that is still under construction. My first thought was, "Wow, that didn't take long." My next thought was a memory of a very funny SNL skit featuring Rudy Giuliani. He's still not my preferred choice for the GOP nomination, but I just might vote for him if he comes out and says, "Clinton sucks big time!"

April 19, 2007

Has the Race Even Started?

In my previous post, I stated that how you start a race is not as important as how you finish. But that doesn't excuse a poor start. Since my preferred candidate isn't keeping pace with the others, maybe a new runner will enter the race.

April 18, 2007

The Race is Not Yet Won

The Boston Marathon was held this past Monday, and though I've never run a marathon I do understand the basic approach needed to finish the race. You must pace yourself.

Nevertheless, each year at the Boston Marathon, there are a few runners who sprint (relatively speaking) the first few miles so that they can be up front near the leaders and maybe make it on TV. (As a sidebar, watching the Boston Marathon live is hilarious. Among the 20,000 runners, there are always plenty of nut cases. I once saw a guy running in a full Spiderman costume.) Of course, the early sprinters don't finish the race, let alone win. But for a brief moment, they seem like good runners.

Politics is like running. How you start is not nearly as important as how you finish. Recent polls suggest the early leaders may not win. Can Giuliani and Clinton keep pace? (As another sidebar, politics also attracts plenty of wackos. And though I've yet to see a candidate in a Spiderman costume, I have seen this photo.)

April 03, 2007

Run Jeb, Run

Here's the latest poll results from Rasmussen. If Fred Thompson can immediately pick up 14 percent in a crowded race, think what Jeb Bush could do.

March 28, 2007

Vote for Omney

It's about a year and a half until the GOP Presidential primary, but already I am receiving direct mail from candidates on a daily basis. They all say the same thing (send money) but here's two that stand out, good and bad.

The Romney campaign spelled my name wrong: Mr. Malley. As in they thought the O was my middle initial. And this from a guy who is from Irish-heavy Boston! Granted, my one vote means very little, and given the choice between Romney and either Giuliani or McCain, I'll still vote for Romney. But let's hope I was the only mistake.

As for the good mail piece, it came from Giuliani. His letter included a spreadsheet showing various recent polling results, all with him in the lead. The table also showed the difference between the Mayor and his closest competitor, John McCain. Here's a summary of Giuliani's lead in the following polls taken in February:

ABC News/Washington Post, +23
Quinnipiac Poll, +22
CBS News Poll, +21
FOX News Poll, +20
USA Today Poll, +16
Time Poll, +14
WNBC Marist Poll, +7

And they spelled my name correctly.

March 15, 2007

C is for Charlie

Governing.com is giving out grades for the country's new governors. So how did Florida's Governor do? Charlie Crist was given a C+. Here's the explanation given by Josh Goodman:

"Florida's Charlie Crist (Rep): C+ Talk about a roller coaster ride: Crist cancelled an inaugural ball after being criticized for seeking millions of dollars in donations from interest groups. Plus, he's facing explosive charges of corruption as attorney general. However, the governor got an important victory on insurance reform and has won rave reviews from Democrats for addressing global warming and voter machine paper trails (and for not being Jeb Bush). Two huge issues loom: property taxes and a gloomier budget picture."

Personally, I disagree. My grade for Crist so far is a B. Of course, considering Crist's high approval ratings, my opinion and the grade from Governing.com are irrelevant.

UPDATE: Since I first wrote this post, Governing.com removed the letter grades and changed the post title to "Assessing" the New Governors. They also removed a comment I made to the post about Governor Crist's high approval ratings.

UPDATE #2: An anonymous commenter to this blog provided the Google cache to the original grade post by Governing.com. Click here to see the original and here to see the censored version.

March 13, 2007

Rasmussen: Giuliani polling at 37%

A new Rasmussen poll indicates that Rudy Giuliani is supported by 37% of likely voters in the Republican primary (or not supported by 63% if you look at it from my perspective.) John McCain is down to only 16%, an early signal that the Senator will not be the next POTUS. Newt Gingrich is at 11% and Mitt Romney is at 10%. McCain, Gingrich and Romney combined tie Giuliani. All other candidates are below 2%, which is within the margin of error of the support for my Presidential campaign.

March 08, 2007

Tomney

The Buzz announced another impressive addition to Mitt Romney's Florida team. Meanwhile, yet another poll shows Giuliani with a significant lead over his competition.

Didn't I just read this book?

Romney is to Giuliani as Gallagher was to Crist. A candidate with strong organization and a new-found ultra-conservative platform versus a popular, moderate candidate with rock star appeal.

I think we know how this will end.

March 02, 2007

Another Inconvenient Truth

The Hedgehog Report points out this excerpt from the National Geographic:

"Simultaneous warming on Earth and Mars suggests that our planet's recent climate changes have a natural - and not a human-induced - cause, according to one scientist's controversial theory. Earth is currently experiencing rapid warming, which the vast majority of climate scientists says is due to humans pumping huge amounts of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Mars, too, appears to be enjoying more mild and balmy temperatures. In 2005 data from NASA's Mars Global Surveyor and Odyssey missions revealed that the carbon dioxide ice caps near Mars's south pole had been diminishing for three summers in a row. Habibullo Abdussamatov, head of the St. Petersburg's Pulkovo Astronomical Observatory in Russia, says the Mars data is evidence that the current global warming on Earth is being caused by changes in the sun."

I guess it's OK for me to keep driving my SUV.

February 27, 2007

Catholics for Brownback

Catholics in the Public Square posted support for Sam Brownback for President. If Brownback can mobilize the Catholic vote, nearly 25 percent of the population, he might stand a chance. In the primary, he will face a pro-abortion divorcee in Giuliani and a loose cannon in McCain. As for Romney, his past support for abortion may come back to haunt him. The key for Brownback will be to stay a viable candidate for as long as possible. He lacks the star power of Giuliani and McCain and the early campaign organization and fundraising of Romney, but as Adam Smith noted in a recent St. Pete Times article, if one of the three falters, Brownback could emerge as the preferred choice for conservative voters.

February 12, 2007

An Early Start for 2008

CQ Politics discusses a growing number of Republican candidates who plan to reclaim Florida's 16th congressional district.  In 2006, Democrat Congressman Tim Mahoney was elected over last-minute Republican candidate Joe Negron, who had the misfortune of running under Mark Foley's name.  Negron recently announced that he would not run in 2008, opening up the race.  The current field includes State Representative Gayle Harrell, attorney and Pittsburgh Steelers fan Tom Rooney, O'Blog favorite Rob Siedlecki and Palm Beach Gardens City Councilman Hal Valeche.

February 09, 2007

All Blogging is Local

I've always admired hyperlocal blogs, Sticks of Fire and Empirical Polk in particular. And while political blogging is my passion, I've always wanted to get back into local blogging (but with better results.) Now I have my chance. I recently agreed to blog about my hometown, Altamonte Springs, for the Orlando Sentinel. Along with fellow Altamonte blogger Bruce Larson, I will write about local concerns. You won't find debates about abortion but you will learn about the new Cold Stone Creamery. Good stuff. Stop by and say hello.

February 08, 2007

A Bill Worth Supporting

By Bill I mean the legislation and the Senator.

Florida State Senator Bill Posey has filed SB 234, the Florida Unborn Victims of Violence Act. The legislation would recognize "viable fetuses" as unborn children (and therefore victims) in cases of vehicular homicide and other acts of violence that kill the child through injury to the mother. A companion bill, HB 71, has been filed by Representative Ralph Poppell and co-sponsored by Reps Dennis Baxley and Trey Traviesa.

(Source: Florida Catholic Conference)

February 07, 2007

Giuliani Not the Right Choice

"Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you"

Jeremiah 1:5

Mayor Giuliani may have an early lead, but if he wants my vote he should watch this.

February 06, 2007

Super Poll Prediction

It's way too early for 2008 Presidential Primary polls, but we all love them, so here are some recent results from Rasmussen:

Democrats
Hillary Clinton 34%
Barack Obama 18%
Al Gore 10%
John Edwards 10%

Republicans
Rudy Giuliani 27%
John McCain 19%
Newt Gingrich 13%
Mitt Romney 9%

To understand the insignificance of early predictions, consider this prediction for Super Bowl XLI made by Sports Illustrated in May 2006:

Dallas Cowboys beat the New England Patriots to win the Super Bowl.

So I guess the lesson is, whoever picks Peyton Manning to be his/her VP candidate will be the next POTUS.

February 05, 2007

Rudy or Hillary?

A commenter on a recent post at Race 4 2008 asked the following question:

Who would you rather have as President: Rudy Giuliani or Hillary Clinton?

In response, I answered Hillary. Yes, my answer may be facetious but it does have some merit. A Clinton victory in 2008 would give Republicans a rallying cry for 2012 and provide motivation to nominate a conservative candidate (read: Jeb). On the other hand, a Giuliani victory would send the GOP to the middle and away from its conservative principles.

So, what's your answer: Rudy or Hillary?

(The question is asked in the context of some recent polls that show Giuliani and Clinton leading their respective races. Let's hope much changes, at least on the GOP side, between now and the 2008 primary.)

February 01, 2007

Should I Buy a New Car?

While sitting at a stop light yesterday, I got a contemptuous look from a man in the car next to me. My first thought was that I had done something wrong; perhaps I cut him off in traffic. But I am a very safe driver and I couldn't recall any driving misdeeds on my part. But when the light turned green, I figured it out. On the back of his Isuzu Outback was a John Edwards bumper sticker. I guess he didn't like my car:

Thebobmobile_2


Maybe I should buy a hybrid. I'd get less dirty looks from liberals and I would be helping meet President Bush's goal of reducing gas consumption.

January 31, 2007

A Better Approach to Stem Cell Research

According to reports in the Orlando Sentinel, Governor Crist announced support for stem cell research using existing strains only. The legislation, sponsored by State Representative Anitere Flores, would provide $20 million for research on stem cells obtained from adults, umbilical cord blood and amniotic fluid. The proposal would not provide funding for stem cell research that would require the harvesting of human embryos. Given that stem cells from amniotic fluid may offer the same benefits of embryonic stem cells, the harvesting and destruction of human life is not necessary to ensure biomed advancements. Governor Crist and Representative Flores are wise to pursue this course of action.

January 24, 2007

The Greatest Rock Bands of All Time

Let's take a break from politics and talk about "the blog post that would never die."

Many moons ago at O'Blog, I listed the 10 greatest rock bands of all time. And although I haven't written anything meaningful at O'Blog for several months, the list still gets daily traffic through Google and every now and then I receive a comment. So I have decided to move the debate to PRFL.

Here they are, the 10 greatest rock bands of all time. If you disagree, blame Mr. G.

  1. U2
  2. The Rolling Stones
  3. Pink Floyd
  4. The Who
  5. Dave Matthews Band
  6. The Doors
  7. Foo Fighters
  8. Metallica
  9. Aerosmith
  10. Rage Against the Machine

January 22, 2007

Romney & Brownback

Last week I discussed whether the 2008 GOP nomination for President should be Mitt Romney OR Sam Brownback. Well, how about Romney AND Brownback? In his Taking Names blog, Scott Maxwell with the Orlando Sentinel broached the idea of Senator Brownback making a play for VP. While I'm still holding out hope for a Romney-Bush ticket, I think Brownback would be a solid VP candidate. Of course, it's way too early to begin serious debate on that topic. But since I opened that box on the GOP side, I think the ticket on the Democrat side will be Edwards-Obama (although Chris Rock disagrees with me.)

January 19, 2007

Romney vs. Brownback

I attended a luncheon today featuring Sam Brownback, U.S. Senator from Kansas and as of tomorrow, 2008 presidential candidate. Last week, I attended a breakfast featuring Mitt Romney, former Governor of Massachusetts (Go Pats!) and likely presidential candidate himself. Given the recency of these encounters, I thought I'd compare the two and share my thoughts through PRFL.

Let me start with similarities. I like both of these candidates and I think America would do well to have either as President. From a GOP perspective, I think both have much stronger conservative credentials than Mayor Giuliani and Senator McCain. Both are also solid family men with strong faith backgrounds.

As for differences, Romney is more personable and engaging. He comes across as Presidential. I think he is better at developing a connection with his audience and communicating his ideas. He has strong business experience and can position himself as an outsider to the mess in DC. On the downside, he is from the same state that gave us John Kerry, Ted Kennedy and Barney Frank. Plus, he is Mormon, which is fine by me, but might be used against him.

Brownback has a reputation for being less engaging. He is not as charismatic as Romney. With that said, today I found him to be funny and a decent communicator. Personally, I think his midwest persona might be a breath of fresh air for the nation.

So who do I like better? I don't think Brownback has the juice to last the entire campaign. That's not right or wrong, it just is. Romney, on the other hand, is very electable. I don't think Brownback stands a chance.

But Brownback is Catholic, a very, very big consideration for me. So I plan to put a Brownback for President bumper sticker on my car and keep it there for as long as he is a viable candidate. Then I will switch my support to Romney and vote for him in the Primary and General Election.

On a final note, I think the presence of Brownback, as well as former Arkansas Governor Michael Huckabee, in the 2008 race is good for the Republican Party. I believe the GOP has moved away from its principles in recent years. A Giuliani or McCain nomination would make things even worse. Brownback and Huckabee will keep us honest and, I hope, result in the nomination of Mitt Romney.

January 11, 2007

GOP Straw Poll

GOP Bloggers posted a straw poll for the 2008 GOP nominee. The poll is posted below and at GOPblogger.org. If you take the poll, vote for Romney or Brownback.

November 08, 2006

Election Disappointments

Florida will enjoy 4 (8?) more years of strong leadership from Tallahassee. Nevertheless, there were a few disappointments from yesterday's elections. I wish the following candidates had won:

Sheri McInvale
Rob Siedlecki
Bruce Antone
Joe Negron
Faith Hill

But I'm glad Jim Davis lost. Twice.

November 07, 2006

Crist Wins!

Oops, sorry. I jumped the gun.

November 06, 2006

BusinessForce Endorsements

I was amazed by the 12-14% of voters who are still undecided about certain statewide races, as revealed by the recent Strategic Vision poll. I don't know whether it is ignorance or apathy, but it's pretty sad. So, for all you undecideds*, here is a final list of endorsements to help you fill out your ballot. These are from BusinessForce, the PAC for the Orlando Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Governor: Charlie Crist (R)

Chief Financial Officer: Tom Lee (R)

Attorney General: Bill McCollum (R)

Commissioner of Agriculture: Charlie Bronson (R)

In addition to these statewide races, BusinessForce endorsed candidates in Central Florida races for the Florida Legislature and local county commissions. And some of them are Democrats.

*Of course, anyone who is still undecided likely is not reading this blog. Like I said, ignorant or apathetic.

New Strategic Vision Poll

Results for the latest Strategic Vision poll, conducted over the weekend, were announced today.

Governor
Charlie Crist 51%
Jim Davis 44%
Max Linn 2%
Other 3%

Chief Financial Officer
Tom Lee 45%
Alex Sink 43%
Undecided 12%

Attorney General
Bill McCollum 45%
Skip Campbell 41%
Undecided 14%

Agriculture Commissioner
Charles Bronson 48%
Eric Copeland 38%
Undecided 14%

U.S. Senate
Bill Nelson 58%
Katherine Harris 35%
Undecided 7%

November 02, 2006

Strategic Vision Poll Results

A new Strategic Vision poll has just been released. Here are some of the results:

Florida Governor
Charlie Crist 50%
Jim Davis 44%
Max Linn 1%
Other 5%

U.S. Senate
Bill Nelson 59%
Katherine Harris 33%
Undecided 8%

CFO
Tom Lee 44%
Alex Sink 41%
Undecided 15%

AG
Bill McCollum 46%
Skip Campbell 40%
Undecided 14%

November 01, 2006

Campbell Blog Not Coming Soon!

A day after posting about Skip Campbell's blog, the blog is no longer. This is what the Skip Campbell blog says now:

Campbell Blog

Not Found

Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't here.

The Catholic Vote

The Florida Catholic recently published its candidate questionnaire for the general election. Responses from gubernatorial, congressional and legislative candidates can be viewed at InformedCatholicVoter.org.

When the Florida Catholic published candidate responses for the primary, this is what I wrote at O'Blog:

"Catholic issues cross over to the platforms of both parties. But beware the candidates who did not respond to the questions. These candidates have turned their backs on 26% of the citizens in Florida. Catholics throughout Florida should unite and not vote for any non-responding candidates."

I still feel the same way. I don't mind a candidate who ducks some questions (Charlie Crist did not respond to three, Jim Davis did not respond to four) but there is no excuse for a candidate to refuse to respond to every question on the questionnaire. If these candidates will ignore a quarter of Floridians during the campaign, what will they be like if elected to office?

October 31, 2006

Campbell Blog Coming Soon!

Skip Campbell soon will unveil a new blog. His campaign Web site states:

Campbell Blog

Coming Soon

By Aaron Blye
Thursday July 20th, 2006 at 5:54 pm

No really…it’s coming soon!


Permalink | No Comments »


That was posted back in July, so the blog should be up and running any day now. Unless the above post is a misrepresentation.

October 30, 2006

Rasmussen Poll Results

The latest Rasmussen poll has Crist up by 11 points.

Charlie Crist 52%
Jim Davis 41%

In the article linked above, a photo shows Charlie Crist pointing up, as if to say to his opponent, "Hey, check the scoreboard."

October 25, 2006

Florida Election Wiki

Andrew Guyton has created an article about Florida statewide elections at Wikipedia.org. It's a comprehensive article, with links to candidates and information about proposed amendments to the Florida Constitution. Check it out.

October 24, 2006

O'Blog Endorsements

Whether you plan to vote on Election Day or by absentee ballot, I encourage you to vote accordingly:

Governor
Charlie Crist (REP)

Attorney General
Bill McCollum (REP)

Chief Financial Officer
Tom Lee (REP)

Commissioner of Agriculture
Charles Bronson (REP)

United States Senator
Katherine Harris (REP)

United States Representative

District: 004
Ander Crenshaw (REP)

District: 007
John Mica (REP)

District: 009
Gus Bilirakis (REP)

District: 012
Adam Putnam (REP)

District: 013
Vern Buchanan (REP)

District: 016
Joe Negron (REP)

District: 021
E. Clay Shaw (REP)

District: 024
Tom Feeney (REP)

State Senator

District: 022
Lee Constantine (REP)

District: 028
Ken Pruitt (REP)

District: 036
Alex Diaz de la Portilla (REP)

State Representative

District: 026
Pat Patterson (REP)

District: 031
Mitch Needelman (REP)

District: 032
Bob Allen (REP)

District: 033
Sandy Adams (REP)

District: 035
R. Dean Cannon Jr. (REP)

District: 036
Sheri McInvale (REP)

District: 040
Andy Gardiner (REP)

District: 041
Steve Precourt (REP)

District: 049
John Quinones (REP)

District: 056
Anthony Trey Traviesa (REP)

District: 062
Richard Glorioso (REP)

District: 063
Seth McKeel (REP)

District: 079
Frank Attkisson (REP)

District: 085
Robert Siedlecki, Jr. (REP)

District: 087
Adam Hasner (REP)

District: 111
Marco Rubio (REP)


Cross-posted at O'Blog.

October 20, 2006

Orlando Straw Poll

Yesterday, I attended the Orlando Regional Hob Nob event hosted by the Orlando Regional Chamber of Commerce. And while straw poll results are meaningless, policy wonks still enjoy them. Here are some of the results from last night's straw poll:

Governor
Charlie Crist 65%
Jim Davis 35%

U.S. Senate
Bill Nelson 58%
Katherine Harris 32%
Undecided 10% (Why be undecided in a straw poll???)

CFO
Tom Lee 89%
Alex Sink 11% (Ouch!)

AG
Bill McCollum 65%
Skip Campbell 35%

U.S. House of Representatives - District 8
Ric Keller 50%
Charlie Stuart 50% (Wow!)

October 13, 2006

A Political Stunt?

Florida Reform Party gubernatorial candidate Max Linn made an "emergency" landing today on I-4, backing up traffic on Orlando's busiest road and generating significant publicity in a major media market just weeks before the general election.

What do you think: true emergency or cheap publicity stunt?

If the latter, shame on Linn, especially given the recent tragedy with New York Yankees pitcher Cory Lidle.

October 11, 2006

Davis Pulls Ahead of Harris

In the race between Jim Davis and Katherine Harris to see who loses by the fewest points, Davis has taken the lead. Here are the latest polling results from Survey USA:

Governor
Charlie Crist 54%
Jim Davis 41%

U.S. Senate
Bill Nelson 55%
Katherine Harris 37%

In related news, the poll shows the CFO race to be very close, with Tom Lee at 49% and Alex Sink at 47%.

October 06, 2006

Vote for Clay Shaw

A Congressional Quarterly article by Rachel Kapochunas discusses Congressman Clay Shaw's relection campaign against State Senator/lobbyist Ron Klein. The article notes that what once was thought to be a Republican-leaning race is now up for grabs.

Clay Shaw represents the 22nd District, which includes Ft. Lauderdale, West Palm Beach and Boca Raton. Congressman Shaw is a member of the influential Ways and Means Committee and has served the people of south Florida with dignity, honor, effectiveness and success for 26 years. Voters should re-elect Clay Shaw.

October 05, 2006

Jim Davis: the new Katherine Harris

Many in the MSM and various liberal blogs boastfully predict that Katherine Harris will lose badly to Bill Nelson. In these predictions, the Harris campaign is often described as a disaster. Well, according to a new Rasmussen poll, so too is the Jim Davis campaign. Look at the results:

Governor
Charlie Crist 54%
Jim Davis 38%

U.S. Senate
Bill Nelson 54%
Katherine Harris 37%

The poll results for the two races are virtually identical.

While many predicted the presence of Harris would harm GOP candidates in other races, it looks like the presence of Davis will hurt the chances of Alex Sink, Skip Campbell and other Democrats.

(h/t The Hedgehog Report)

October 04, 2006

Support Joe Negron

Back in July at O'Blog, I said that Joe Negron had a bright future in front of him. The events of the past week are not exactly what I had in mind.

But let's hope the people of District 16 elect the best person for the job. Joe Negron was an effective Legislator and is a stand-up guy. He will serve Florida well.

Here's a link to Negron's old AG campaign website. I'll add his new campaign site if/when it is up and running.

September 27, 2006

A Weak Endorsement

The Orlando Sentinel, among other newspapers, reported today about Rod Smith's "support" for Jim Davis. The first word of the article, though, says it all: GAINESVILLE.

Who is in charge of the Democratic party?

Jim Davis, the Democrat nominee, had to travel all the way to Smith's hometown to get his endorsement. Was Rod Smith too busy to even leave his own county? Never mind the fact that Smith's "100% support" came three weeks after the primary.

Compare that lack of unity with the organization and teamwork of the Republican party. Just days after a hard-fought primary, Charlie Crist and Tom Gallagher toured the state to unite Republicans. Crist didn't have to go searching for Gallagher. Crist didn't have to wait three weeks. Crist and Gallagher immediately worked together as a team.

How can Jim Davis lead the state when he can't even lead his own party?

Legislative Campaign Websites

Here is an update to my list of Florida Legislative Campaign Websites, which was originally posted at O'Blog. This list reflects the outcome of the September primary. As with the original list, if I am missing a link for any candidate, please let me know and I will add it.

State Senator

District:

002
Durell Peaden Jr. (REP)

004
Don Gaetz (REP)

006
Alfred "Al" Lawson Jr. (DEM)

008
Joseph Ellyson (WRI)
James E. King Jr. (REP)
Marsha Morrison (WRI)

010
Victoria Brake (WRI)
Stephen Gorham (DEM)
Ronda Storms (REP)

012
Victor Crist (REP)
C. Burt Linthicum (CPF)

014
Edward L. Jennings Jr. (DEM)
Steve Oelrich (REP)

016
Kim Berfield (REP)
Charlie Justice (DEM)

018
Arthenia Joyner (DEM)
Eric Suntich (WRI)

020
Carey Baker (REP)

022
Lee Constantine (REP)
Jeremiah E. Jaspon (DEM)

024
Bill Posey (REP)

026
Mike Haridopolos (REP)

028
Ken Pruitt (REP)
Stan Smilan (DEM)

030
Ted Deutch (DEM)
Karl N. Dickey (LIB)
George Harageones (WRI)

032
Kenneth Lunkins (DEM)
Jeremy Ring (DEM)

034
Nan Rich (DEM)

036
Alex Diaz de la Portilla (REP)
Angie Rodriguez (WRI)

038
Leighton Lang (NPA)
Alejandro Rizo (WRI)
J. Alex Villalobos (REP)

040
Rudy Garcia Jr. (REP)

State Representative

District:

001
Greg Evers (REP)

002
Dave Murzin (REP)

003
Holly Benson (REP)
Elizabeth Campbell (DEM)

004
Ray Sansom (REP)

005
Donald Brown (REP)
Toreatha Hayes-Mitchell (WRI)

006
George Mac Brogdon (WRI)
Janice L. Lucas (DEM)
Jimmy Patronis Jr. (REP)

007
Marti Coley (REP)

008
Curtis Richardson (DEM)

009
Loranne Ausley (DEM)

010
Will Kendrick (DEM)

011
Debra Boyd (DEM)
David Pope (REP)

012
Aaron Bean (REP)

013
Jennifer Carroll (REP)

014
Terry Fields (DEM)
Donald Foy (REP)

015
Reginald Fullwood (DEM)
Audrey Gibson (DEM)
Cheryl R. Waters (WRI)

016
Mark Mahon (REP)

017
Stan Jordan (REP)

018
Don Davis (REP)

019
Dick Kravitz (REP)

020
William Proctor (REP)

021
Joe Pickens (REP)

022
Larry Cretul (REP)
Macky Thurman (DEM)

023
Charles Chestnut IV (DEM)
Cain Davis (REP)

024
Dennis Baxley (REP)
James Walker (DEM)

025
Alan Hays (REP)

026
Ronald Cahen (DEM)
Pat Patterson (REP)

027
Joyce Cusack (DEM)
Dave Hood (REP)

028
Dorothy Hukill (REP)
William Smalley (DEM)

029
Ralph Poppell (REP)

030
Thad Altman (REP)

031
Johnny R. Myers, Sr. (WRI)
Mitch Needelman (REP)
Timothy Shipe (DEM)

032
Bob Allen (REP)
Edward Brown (WRI)

033
Sandy Adams (REP)
Ernie Langdon (DEM)
Franklin Perez (NPA)

034
David Mealor (REP)

035
R. Dean Cannon Jr. (REP)
David Odom (WRI)

036
Sheri McInvale (REP)
Scott Randolph (DEM)

037
David Simmons (REP)

038
Bryan Nelson (REP)

039
Earl Olden (WRI)
Geraldine Thompson (DEM)

040
Andy Gardiner (REP)
Darren Michael Soto (DEM)

041
Bill McManus (DEM)
Steve Precourt (REP)

042
Hugh Gibson III (REP)
Robert Lewis Thompson (DEM)

043
Charles Dean (REP)

044
Glenn Claytor (DEM)
Robert Schenck III (REP)

045
Tom Anderson (REP)
Chris Hrabovsky (DEM)

046
John Legg (REP)

047
Kevin Ambler (REP)
Daniel Suarez (DEM)

048
Peter Nehr (REP)
Carl Zimmermann (DEM)

049
John "Q" Quinones (REP)
Ruth Ann Raia (DEM)

050
Ed Hooper (REP)
Candice Jovan (DEM)

051
Janet Long (DEM)
Dottie Reeder (REP)

052
Angelo Cappelli (REP)
Harold William Heller (DEM)

053
Rick Kriseman (DEM)
Thomas Piccolo (REP)

054
Jim Frishe (REP)
Betsy Valentine (DEM)

District: 055
Frank Peterman Jr. (DEM)

056
Lee Nelson (DEM)
Anthony Trey Traviesa (REP)

057
Brian Becker (GRE)
Deborah Cope (DEM)
Faye Culp (REP)

058
Alfred Ruiz (REP)
Michael Scionti (DEM)

059
Willis "K.C." Bowick (REP)
Betty Reed (DEM)

060
Edward Homan Jr. (REP)
Karen Perez (DEM)

061
Donovan Brown (DEM)
Ken Littlefield (REP)

062
Richard Glorioso (REP)
Jeremy Zelanes (DEM)

063
James Davis (DEM)
Seth McKeel (REP)

064
Dennis Ross (REP)

065
Marty Bowen (REP)

066
Baxter Troutman (REP)

067
Ron Reagan (REP)

068
William Galvano (REP)

069
Laura Benson (REP)
Keith Fitzgerald (DEM)

070
Doug Holder (REP)
M. David Shapiro (DEM)

071
Michael Grant (REP)
Robert Peter Rice (WRI)

072
Paige Kreegel (REP)

073
Pete Burkert (DEM)
Nick Thompson (REP)

074
Jeff Kottkamp (REP)

075
Trudi Williams (REP)

076
Ken MacPherson (CPF)
Garrett Richter (REP)

077
Denise Grimsley (REP)
Zane Thomas (DEM)

078
Richard Machek (DEM)

079
Frank Attkisson (REP)
Beulah Farquharson (DEM)

080
Stan Mayfield (REP)

081
Gayle Harrell (REP)
William Ramos (DEM)

082
Catherine Hilton (DEM)
William Snyder (REP)

083
Carl Domino (REP)
Rick Ford (DEM)

084
Priscilla Ann Taylor (DEM)

085
Robert Siedlecki, Jr. (REP)
Shelley Vana (DEM)

086
Kathleen Faherty-Ruby (WRI)
Maria Sachs (DEM)

087
Adam Hasner (REP)
Ed Kopf (DEM)

088
Susan Bucher (DEM)

089
Mary Brandenburg (DEM)

090
Kelly Skidmore (DEM)

091
Ellyn Bogdanoff (REP)
Christian Chiari (DEM)

092
Jack Seiler (DEM)

093
Henry Bonner (WRI)
Nick Sakhnovsky (NPA)
Perry Thurston Jr. (DEM)

094
Matthew Meadows (DEM)

095
James Waldman (DEM)

096
Ari Abraham Porth (DEM)

097
Susan Goldstein (REP)
Martin David Kiar (DEM)

098
Franklin Sands (DEM)

099
Andrew Housman (WRI)
Elaine Schwartz (DEM)
Juan Selaya (REP)

100
Evan Boyd Jenne (DEM)

101
Mike Davis (REP)

102
Ralph Arza (REP)
Manuel Riera (WRI)

103
Wilbert Theodore Holloway (DEM)

104
Yolly Roberson (DEM)
Jie Wells (WRI)

105
Joseph Gibbons (DEM)

106
Dan Gelber (DEM)

107
Frank Carollo (REP)
Luis Garcia Jr. (DEM)

108
Ronald Brise (DEM)
Prospero Herrera II (REP)

109
Dorothy Bendross-Mindingall (DEM)
Sarah Ruth Robinett (WRI)

110
Alex Dueso (WRI)
Rene Garcia (REP)

111
Brenda Hernandez (WRI)
Marco Rubio (REP)

112
David Rivera (REP)
Christina Sanchez (WRI)

113
Nicole Abrante (WRI)
Carlos Lopez-Cantera (REP)

114
Anitere Flores (REP)

115
Juan-Carlos "J.C." Planas (REP)

116
Marcelo Llorente (REP)

117
Julio Robaina (REP)

118
Edward Bullard (DEM)

119
Roy Bustillo (WRI)
Juan Zapata (REP)

120
Bob (WRI)
David Rice (REP)
Ron Saunders (DEM)

Cross-posted at O'Blog.

Mr. G Says...

Out of State Allies

PRFL Contributors

Syndication

  • Get this widget from Widgetbox

Copyright and Disclaimer